Auto Insurance in Colorado

Compare personalized auto insurance rates in Colorado

Colorado Auto Insurance

Whether you’re a new driver or just new to the state, auto insurance in Colorado is unique from the other 49 states in the union. If you’re looking to learn more about cheap auto insurance and Colorado driving laws, keep these facts in mind.

Car Insurance Requirements in Colorado

Colorado minimum auto insurance requirements include the following coverages:

  • $25,000 of bodily injury protection (per person)
  • $50,000 of bodily injury protection (per accident)
  • $15,000 of property damage liability (per accident)

Colorado car insurance laws also require drivers to purchase uninsured and underinsured motorist protection. However, this requirement can be waived in writing if the driver does not wish to pay for the additional coverage.

Is Colorado a No-Fault State?

No, Colorado changed in 2003 from a no-fault state to an at-fault state. This means that all drivers are held liable for financial damages if they are found liable for an accident.

 

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Colorado:</zipcode>

 

Car Insurance Prices in Colorado

Average car insurance rates for those in Colorado are around $1,300 a year, though rates can vary drastically based on the type of car you own, where you live, and how you drive.

 

<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers and Teen Drivers;Car insurance for 16-18 year olds in Colorado will cost an average of $6,000 a year. This is by far the most expensive age group due to the inexperience of the drivers. Shopping around can make it easier to find a price that works for your budget.</qa> 

<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18 - 24-year-olds) in Colorado;Car insurance for teenage students in Colorado can be as high as $3,000 in cities such as Denver. However, as drivers gain more experience and confidence, rates will start to dip down to an average of $1,900. Some auto insurance companies will give discounts to students with excellent GPAs, so those with good grades should apply.</qa> 

<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in Colorado;Car insurance for those between 24 – 55 average out to between $1,200 to $1,400 a year.</qa> 

<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in Colorado;Drivers over 55 will pay around $1,300 until they reach the age of 70. At this age, the average is closer to $1,550.</qa> 

<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in Colorado;Some auto insurance companies will offer discounts to veterans in Colorado. Shopping around can help you determine which companies work with veterans and how rates compare. For example, you may find regular rates from one company that are actually cheaper than the veterans discounts being offered at another. </qa> 

 

AgeMost Popular VehicleGenderMost Common City
18 - 24ChevroletMale - 57% | Female - 43%Denver
25 - 54FordMale - 51% | Female - 49%Denver
55 - 64FordMale - 44% | Female - 56%Denver
65 +FordMale - 44% | Female - 56%Denver

* This information is based on Pretected.com users.

 

Auto Insurance for Good Drivers

Auto insurance rates for safe drivers with excellent credit scores tend to be a lot lower than those with multiple blemishes on their record. Taking additional safety training courses can improve your skills on the road.

Auto Insurance for Bad Drivers

While bad drivers certainly aren't bad, they are charged more for their auto insurance. Poor drivers are classified as those with multiple infractions (e.g., DUIs, accidents, speeding tickets, etc). The more tarnished a driver’s record is, the more they’ll pay in auto insurance rates.
 

Traffic Violations and Fines in Colorado

The average cost of a speeding ticket in Colorado is between $80 – $150, depending on how fast you were going at the time. Reckless driving in Colorado can cost you between $150 – $300 in fines and 10 – 90 days in jail.

Driving While High Laws in Colorado

While marijuana may be legal in Colorado for those 21 and over, it is still illegal to drive while high in Colorado. Fines can be as high as $1,500 with up to a year in jail and up to 8 points on your driver’s license.

Driving Without Car Insurance in Colorado

Driving without car insurance in Colorado will earn you 4 points on your license and a minimum of $500 in fines. You may have your license revoked until you can show proof of insurance.

Texting and Driving in Colorado

Cell phone use in Colorado while driving is banned entirely for those 18 and under. However, texting while driving if you are above the age of 18 is considered legal — so long as the driver is doing so responsibly. However, because this definition is so vague, drivers are still encouraged to refrain from texting. There are no official statewide laws about distracted driving, including eating while driving, but some cities have specific rules against distracted driving.

 

<twitter>Driving a black car on Sundays in a no-no in Colorado (even if the law is never enforced)</twitter>

 

Colorado Car Accidents

There were just under 27,000 car accidents in 2017, representing a tiny drop in total accidents from 2016. There were 329 fatal crashes and 3,496 crashes that resulted in injuries.

Reasons for Car Accidents in Colorado

Distracted driving, speeding, and drunk driving were the top three contributors to accidents in Colorado.

Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in Colorado

Most accidents occurred due to four-wheel vehicles. There were 125 motorcyclist deaths in 2016, and an average of 10 bicycle fatalities in the state. There were 84 pedestrian fatalities in 2016.  

Car Accidents in Colorado - More Facts

Traffic fatalities dropped 34% between 2002 and 2014 in the state.

49% of all fatalities in 2016 occurred due to an unbelted rider or driver.

Motorcycle drivers are the most vulnerable on the road.

An average of 1 in 33 drivers will die in a crash (per year).
 

Bonus: Most Weird, Funny and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in Colorado

  • You can make a left-hand turn on red from a one-way street to a one-way street (unless explicitly prohibited)
  • Headphones of any kind are strictly banned for all drivers

 

Looking for Auto insurance in Colorado? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretected’s "Smart Match":

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Colorado:</zipcode>

 

<resources>https://www.thezebra.com/colorado-car-insurance/co-average-cost-of-auto-insurance/;https://quotewizard.com/news/posts/​denver-colorado-car-insurance-company-rate-study;https://driversed.com/​dmv/colorado/vehicle-insurance-requirements.aspx;http://www.rmiia.org/auto/steering_through_your_auto_policy/Uninsured_Colorado.asp;https://www.wsdrivinginstitute.com/blog/​obscure-colorado-driving-laws;https://kdvr.com/2017/06/21/​texting-while-driving-now-legal-in-colorado​/;https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/​csp/traffic-safety-statistics;https://www.denverpost.com/2017/05/09/​motorcycle-deaths-colorado-roads/;http://www.governing.com/gov-data/transportation-infrastructure/most-bicycle-cyclist-deaths-per-capita-by-state-data.html;https://www.codot.gov/news/2017-news/​january/​colorado-traffic-fatalities-up-24-percent-in-two-years​u</resources>