Auto Insurance in Connecticut

Compare personalized auto insurance rates in Connecticut

Connecticut Auto Insurance

It can be difficult to understand all of the ins and outs of auto insurance in Connecticut, especially if you're new to the state and aren't sure if the laws you're more familiar with still apply. If you're looking for cheap auto insurance in particular, it helps to know bare minimum requirements and other legal elements that can impact the plan you ultimately choose. Knowing the following Connecticut driving laws also ensures that you will be a better, safer driver, which saves you money on insurance in the long run. 

Car Insurance Requirements in Connecticut

Connecticut car insurance laws require you to have a minimum amount of car insurance. Without the following Connecticut minimum auto insurance requirements, you may be subject to severe penalties, such as monetary fines and even jail time.

  • $20,000 bodily injury per person per accident
  • $40,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability
  • $20,000/$40,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage

Connecticut does not require personal liability or collision insurance, though adding this insurance can help protect you from financial loss.

Is Connecticut a No-Fault State?

Connecticut has been a fault state since 1994, which means that drivers at fault in an accident may be held liable for damages under its current tort system.

 

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Connecticut:</zipcode>

 

Car Insurance Prices in Connecticut

Auto insurance in Connecticut is relatively expensive compared to the rest of the country. The average car insurance premium in the state is $1,544 annually, which is 8.2% higher than the US average. Auto insurance for a 16-year-old driver runs $9,330 annually, while the cost for a client aged 50 to 59 comes in at an average of $1,382.

 

<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers and Teen Drivers;Car insurance for 16-18 year olds in Connecticut is expensive starting out, though it gets progressively lower the older the driver gets. Connecticut drivers have an average car insurance rate of $9,330 at 16, $6,737 at 17, and $5,785 at 18. Comparing rates and taking advantage of discounts can help keep these rates manageable.</qa>

<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18-24 Year Olds) in Connecticut;Auto insurance rates drop significantly as Connecticut drivers enter their 20s. At 19, Connecticut drivers pay an average annual rate of $3,716.26, while drivers in their 20s pay an average of $2,044.68.</qa> 

<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in Connecticut;By 24, car insurance rates for Connecticut drivers hit a plateau. Drivers in their late 20s can expect to pay a rate between $1,500 and $2,000. Drivers in the age range of 30-50 will pay an average price range of $1,382.48-$1,436.52.</qa> 

<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in Connecticut;Car insurance rates hit their lowest point during your 50s, with rates averaging $1,382.48 annually. From there, rates will increase, though not quite as significantly as they do for teenage drivers. For example, drivers in their 70s will pay an average annual rate of $1,867.31.</qa> 

<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in Connecticut;Many insurance carriers in Connecticut offer discounted rates for drivers who are military veterans, and even for those actively serving. Be sure to check with your insurance agent to determine savings opportunities for this status.</qa>

 

AgeMost Popular VehicleGenderMost Common City
18 - 24HondaMale - 57% | Female - 43%Bridgeport
25 - 54HondaMale - 51% | Female - 49%Bridgeport
55 - 64NissanMale - 46% | Female - 54%Bridgeport
65 +ToyotaMale - 44% | Female - 56%Bridgeport

* This information is based on Pretected.com users.

Traffic Violations and Fines in Connecticut

Speeding Ticket Cost in Connecticut

Speeding offenses add 7 percent to insurance costs in Connecticut, and a speeding ticket counts toward license suspension by 10 percent. Speeding is automatically considered reckless once you're over 20 mph of the posted speed limit. For reckless driving in Connecticut, drivers will have their licenses suspended for one month. The first offense of reckless driving will result in a minimum fine of $300, while the second offense comes with a minimum fine of $600.

Driving While High Laws in Connecticut

Driving or operating a motor vehicle in Connecticut under the influence of marijuana is a crime. A first offense comes with fines and a mandatory 48 hours in jail.

Driving Without Car Insurance in Connecticut

Connecticut state law states that drivers operating a vehicle without insurance may have their car's registration and driver's license suspended and the uninsured vehicle may be impounded if it has suspended registration.

Texting and Driving in Connecticut

Connecticut's distracted driving law states that "no person shall engage in any activity not related to the actual operation of a motor vehicle that interferes with its safe operation on a highway." This means it is illegal for drivers to engage in cell phone use and other behaviors that distract from operating the vehicle, such as eating while driving.

 

<twitter>Oddly enough, Connecticut law technically states that a fire engine should not exceed 25 mph, even if it's on its way to a fire.</twitter>

 

Connecticut Car Accidents

Recent car accident statistics indicate that during the first half of 2016, there were 138 fatal car accidents in Connecticut. This is a 45 percent increase from the 95 people killed in traffic accidents in the state during the same period in 2015.

Reasons for Car Accidents in Connecticut

From the most recent data available in 2016, the percent of fatalities in Connecticut related to alcohol amounted to a staggering 38.07%. Distracted driving is another common cause of car accidents in the state. In 2015, 80,504 accidents in Connecticut were caused by collision with a motor vehicle in operation, while 16,775 accidents involved collision with a fixed object.

Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in Connecticut

Passenger vehicles were the most common vehicle in 2015 crashes in Connecticut, representing more than half (63.92%) of all involved vehicles. Pickup trucks and SUVs were the second and third most common vehicle types involved in crashes in the state in 2015, representing 6.47 percent and 16.81 percent, respectively.

Car Accidents in Connecticut

Crash victims in Connecticut are nearly evenly split for gender overall, with a slightly higher percentage for males at 52%. Crash victims aged 21-25 accounted for the largest number of drivers and the third largest number of passengers in 2015. The highest occurence of crashes involving distracted driving occurred during the hours of 3PM and 5PM. 

 

Bonus: Most Weird, Funny and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in Connecticut

  • You might want to hold off on the camo paint job on your luxury sedan—hunting from cars in Connecticut is illegal all year round, even during deer season.
  • Think twice before sneaking a French fry from your McDonald's bag when in Bloomfield. Though distracted driving laws implicitly bar drivers from behaviors like this, it's explicitly illegal to eat in your car in Bloomfield.

 

Looking for Auto insurance in Connecticut? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretected’s "Smart Match":

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Connecticut:</zipcode>

 

<resources>https://www.einsurance.com/insurance-guide/connecticut/auto-insurance/;https://www.thezebra.com/connecticut-car-insurance/ct-average-cost-of-auto-insurance/;https://patch.com/connecticut/avon/how-strict-connecticut-speeding-reckless-driving-0;https://www.jud.ct.gov/lawlib/law/intoxicated.htm;https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/rpt/2016-R-0037.htm;https://www.dpweinerlaw.com/stamford-criminal-law-blog/connecticut-distracted-driving-laws;https://www.millerandrosnick.com/Articles/Traffic-fatalities-soar-45-percent-in-Connecticut-in-2016.shtml;https://www.nwitimes.com/autos/the-most-dangerous-states-for-car-accidents/collection_44bc28fd-4a18-5d36-9adf-2cb844071634.html#1;http://www.ct.gov/dot/lib/dot/documents/dpolicy/ctaf/2015_ct_crash_facts_book.pdf;https://blog.nationwide.com/weird-traffic-laws-by-state/;https://www.girardnissan.com/blogs/897/uncategorized/3-bizarre-driving-laws-in-connecticut/</resources>