Auto Insurance in Delaware

Compare personalized auto insurance rates in Delaware

Delaware Auto Insurance

Seeking cheap auto insurance in Delaware? It's important to understand state regulations before making any important decisions, but navigating all of the rules surrounding insurance coverage can feel a bit overwhelming. Fortunately, this guide will help you understand Delaware's insurance regulations. Read on to learn all about Delaware driving laws and auto insurance requirements. 

Car Insurance Requirements in Delaware

Delaware car insurance laws state that all drivers must carry liability insurance in order to help cover costs related to any damages, injuries or deaths that may result from a car accident. Delaware minimum auto insurance requirements are as follows:

  • $25,000 worth of injury or death coverage, per person
  • $25,000 worth of total injury or death coverage, per accident
  • $10,000 worth of property damage coverage, per accident

Delaware also requires all drivers to carry personal injury protection insurance (PIP), which is sometimes called no-fault auto insurance. PIP helps pay medical bills and funeral expenses from an accident, regardless of who is found at fault. Minimum PIP requirement in Delaware are: 

  • $15,000 of bodily injury to one person
  • $30,000 of bodily injury to multiple people involved in the same accident

While these liability coverages are required by law, drivers may also choose to purchase optional auto insurance coverage in Delaware. These include:

  • Collision, which helps pay for damages to a car resulting from an accident
  • Comprehensive, which helps pay for damages to a car unrelated to an accident
  • Un/underinsured, which helps cover costs related incidents in which the other driver doesn't have adequate insurance coverage
  • Towing, labor and rental

 

Is Delaware a No-Fault State?

Delaware is what's known as a "fault" state. This means that the person who's found at fault for a car accident must compensate anyone who's been injured or suffered damages as a result. 

 

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Delaware:</zipcode>

 

Car Insurance Prices in Delaware

Delaware auto insurance prices usually range from just over $1,400 per year to over $8,600 per year. Costs tend to be highest for teens, with premiums averaging about $2,500 annually. Drivers ages 35 to 65 tend to pay lower rates, at around $1,400 per year. 

 

<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers and Teen Drivers;Car insurance prices for 16-18 years olds in Delaware are on the higher side, ranging from over $5,400 to more than $8,600 per year. Shop around to find the most affordable coverage for drivers in this, the most expensive age group.</qa>

<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18-24 Years Old) in Delaware;When drivers turn 18, auto insurance rates drop slightly and continue to decrease throughout the student years. Expect to pay about $5,400 in premiums per year at age 18, dropping to about $2,400 annually by age 24. </qa> 

<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in Delaware;At age 25, insurance costs fall to about $1,800 per year. The cost of coverage continues to decrease over time, averaging between $1,400 and $1,500 per year over the next few decades.</qa> 

<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in Delaware;55-year-old drivers in Delaware should expect to pay about $1,400 per year in premiums. Costs begin to increase as drivers age, reaching over $1,700 at age 75 and over $2,000 annually at age 85. </qa> 

<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in Delaware;Those who served our country in the armed forces may be able to enjoy discounted auto insurance in Delaware. Offers vary by insurance company, so veterans should shop around to find discounts. </qa>

 

AgeMost Popular VehicleGenderMost Common City
18 - 24HondaMale - 49% | Female - 51%Dover
25 - 54ChevroletMale - 48% | Female - 52%Manor
55 - 64FordMale - 38% | Female - 62%Dover
65 +FordMale - 43% | Female - 57%Long Neck

* This information is based on Pretected.com users.

Traffic Violations and Fines in Delaware

Speeding Ticket Cost in Delaware

Several factors influence the cost of a speeding ticket in Delaware, such as the court that has jurisdiction, the speed over the limit, and any prior offenses. Drivers who receive a speeding ticket may accumulate from 2 to 5 points against their driver's license. Those convicted of reckless driving in Delaware will accumulate 6 points. 

Driving While High Laws in Delaware

Driving under the influence (DUI) laws in Delaware encompass driving while under the influence of prescription and illicit drugs. Driving while high may result in hefty fines, imprisonment and the suspension or revocation of your driver's license.

Driving Without Car Insurance in Delaware

It is against the law to drive without auto insurance in Delaware. Uninsured drivers may face penalties such as fines from $1,500 to $3,000 per offense and suspension of driving privileges for up to six months or more.

Texting and Driving In Delaware

Delaware has laws to prevent distracted driving, and that means no texting while driving. Delaware state law prohibits cell phone use while driving without a hands-free device. While eating while driving is allowed, it may contribute to distracted driving and is thus discouraged.

 

<twitter>If you're in Fenwick Island, Delaware, eat before you go; it's illegal to tailgate or have a picnic near your car between the hours of midnight and 6 am.</twitter>

 

Delaware Car Accidents

Reasons for Car Accidents in Delaware

In 2017, there were 119 fatalities related to traffic accidents. Of these, 32 involved a driver impaired by alcohol and 33 were speeding-related. In the same year, there were 10 motorcycle fatalities and 33 pedestrian fatalities. 

Car Accidents in Delaware - More Facts

Just over half the fatal car accidents in Delaware — 61 — in 2017 took place in rural areas, while 56 fatal accidents took place in urban areas. Overall, 91 percent of drivers wear their seat belts regularly, but front-seat vehicle occupants who died in a car crash only wore seat belts 66 percent of the time. 

Bonus: Most Weird, Funny and Ridiculous Traffic Law in Delaware

  • Heading to the beach? Don't try to change clothes in your car, because it's illegal!
  • The whole family can go to see a movie from the comfort of your car in Delaware, because it's illegal to play an R-rated movie at a drive-in theater.

 

Looking for Auto insurance in Delaware? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretected’s "Smart Match":

 

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Delaware:</zipcode>

 

<resources>https://www.dmv.org/de-delaware/;https://www.insurance.com/auto-insurance.aspx#Rates_By_Age;https://www.dmv.org/de-delaware/traffic-ticket-fines-and-penalties.php;https://www.dmv.de.gov/services/driver_services/drivers_license/dr_lic_violation.shtml;https://www.iihs.org/iihs/topics/t/general-statistics/fatalityfacts/state-by-state-overview#Crash-types;https://www.dmv.de.gov/forms/driver_serv_forms/pdfs/dr_frm_manual.pdf?08251;https://www.thrillist.com/entertainment/nation/weird-state-laws;https://ohs.delaware.gov/pdfs/Annual_Report/Annual_Report_17.pdf;https://delawarestatenews.net/government/making-cents-of-delawares-traffic-fines/;https://cdan.nhtsa.gov/SASStoredProcess/guest;https://autowise.com/weird-traffic-laws-from-each-of-the-50-us-states/;https://www.iihs.org/iihs/topics/t/general-statistics/fatalityfacts/state-by-state-overview#Crash-types;https://www.schumachercargo.com/blog/50-weird-driving-laws-us/;https://autowise.com/weird-traffic-laws-from-each-of-the-50-us-states/</resources>