Auto Insurance in Florida

Compare personalized auto insurance rates in Florida

Florida Auto Insurance

The more you about know about auto insurance in Florida, the more prepared you'll be to pick a policy that works for you. If you're looking for cheap auto insurance, it's time to dive in. Learn more about how to balance insurance and Florida driving laws with your budget. 

Car Insurance Requirements in Florida 

Every driver in Florida is required to carry a certain amount of car insurance to be legal on the road. Luckily, Florida minimum auto insurance requirements are far lower than other states:

  • $10,000 of personal injury protection
  • $10,000 of property damage liability

The Florida car insurance laws are designed for you and your car. You are not required to get additional coverage, such as comprehensive or collision insurance. However, some drivers are required to buy Bodily Insurance Liability coverage. If you have a history of accidents or infractions, this coverage will pay out $10,000 worth of coverage per person in an at-fault accident.

Is Florida a No-Fault State?

Yes, Florida is a no-fault state. However, drivers may be held liable for at-fault crashes if they have a history of previous accidents (regardless of who was at fault). Experts recommend buying additional insurance to ensure you're covered. 

 

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Florida:</zipcode>

 

Car Insurance Prices in Florida

On average, Florida drivers pay $1,589 per year for car insurance. However, these prices can range from under $400 to over $2,500. A teenager can typically expect to pay more than $2,000 year while seniors will pay around $1,750. 

 

<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers and Teen Drivers;Car insurance for 16-18 year olds in Florida will see higher premiums, but the range can vary widely. Some companies may charge as low as $1,700 a year while others may go as high as $6,000. Shopping around can help families save money.</qa>

<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18 - 24-year-olds) in Florida;Car insurance for students is noticeably different during college years in Florida. The average premium for a male at 18 is still around $4,000. However, students will see a drop as they enter their early 20s to under $2,000. They may also qualify for additional discounts based on their grades and driving history.</qa>

<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in Florida;Car insurance during this time (up to 55) will be around $1,500 a year.</qa>

<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in Florida;The average cost of car insurance premiums will rise slightly during this time to just over $1,700 a year.</qa>

<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in Florida;Veterans in Florida are eligible for discounts on their insurance. These discounts can vary so be sure to research quotes with different carriers.</qa>

 

AgeMost Popular VehicleGenderMost Common City
18 - 24ToyotaMale - 55% | Female - 45%Tampa
25 - 54ToyotaMale - 49% | Female - 51%Jacksonville
55 - 64FordMale - 46% | Female - 54%Jacksonville
65 +ToyotaMale - 46% | Female - 54%Jacksonville

* This information is based on Pretected.com users.

 

Auto Insurance for Good Drivers

The safer you are in Florida, the less you'll pay in auto insurance premiums. Because you're less likely to get into a crash, most auto insurers are happy to reward you with savings on your car insurance.

Auto Insurance for Bad Drivers

Everyone makes mistakes on the road, and some drivers are just plain unlucky. However, the more accidents, tickets, and violations you have on the road, the higher your premium will be. Each carrier has their own definition of what 'bad' is, which is why rates can vary widely for those with infractions on their record.

 

Traffic Violations and Fines in Florida

The cost of a speeding ticket or violation will vary based on where you're caught, but it's generally between $150 – $300. You'll typically accrue 1 – 2 points on your license if caught going 15 miles under the posted speed limit and 3 points or more if going over. Reckless driving in Florida can land you up to 90 days in jail.

Driving While High Laws in Florida

It is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana in Florida. Fines can range from $500 to $1,000 and may include jail time.

Driving WIthout Car Insurance in Florida

Drivers who are caught driving without car insurance in Florida will be subject to a reinstatement fee. This can be anywhere from $150 to $500. Fines increase if drivers are found to violate this law multiple times.

Texting and Driving in Florida

Cell phone use while driving is illegal in Florida. However, police officers can only pull you over if they also catch you doing something else wrong. (For example, you also need to be speeding and texting.) Eating while driving does not qualify as distracted driving in Florida.

 

<twitter>Florida state law explicitly forbids you from driving over graves.</twitter>

 

Florida Car Accidents

There were just under 338,000 car accidents in 2017, which actually represented a small decline in car accident statistics by about 8,000. Unsurprisingly, the most car accidents in Florida occurred in the most populated counties (Miami and Broward).

Reasons for Car Accidents in Florida

Bad weather and distracted driving seem to be the biggest contributors to accidents. The vast majority of accidents were property damage crashes and commercial vehicle crashes, accounting for around 68% of all accidents. Pedestrian crashes were around 2%, but the overall number of fatalities for all crashes was 2,892.

Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in Florida

The vast majority of accidents were caused by four-wheel vehicles (including vans, trucks, and SUVs). Motorcycles accounted for 9,707, or about 2.5% of all crashes, while bicycle crashes made up less than 2%.

Car Accidents in Florida - More Facts

By day, Friday had the highest number of accidents. By month, March had the highest number of accidents. Just under 68% of accidents happened during the day. You're more likely to be involved in an accident between the ages of 25 – 34.

Bonus: Most Weird, Funny and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in Florida

  • If you happen to live in Waleka, you're not allowed to store your junk car anywhere. You either have to get it moving or take it to a more forgiving town.
  • If you wanted to try driving your swamp buggy in Florida, let's just stop you right there. Because you can't.


Looking for Auto insurance in Florida? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretected’s "Smart Match":

 

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Florida:</zipcode>
 

 

<resources>https://www.dmvflorida.org/auto-insurance/;https://www.thebalance.com/florida-no-fault-car-insurance-laws-527447;https://www.valuepenguin.com/cheap-car-insurance-florida-study;https://www.valuepenguin.com/best-car-insurance-teen-drivers;https://flhsmv.gov/pdf/crashreports/crash_facts_2017.pdf;https://www.etags.com/blog/7-weird-florida-laws/;https://www.thezebra.com/car-insurance-20-year-olds/;https://www.tampabay.com/florida-politics/buzz/2018/11/26/second-bill-filed-to-toughen-floridas-law-on-driver-cell-phone-use/;https://patch.com/florida/miamibeach/florida-counties-top-most-car-accidents-2017</resources>