Auto Insurance in Hawaii

Compare personalized auto insurance rates in Hawaii

Hawaii Auto Insurance

Auto insurance in Hawaii is determined by specific laws, so it’s important to understand them before you pick a policy. To understand more about how to get cheap auto insurance in Hawaii, it’s time to learn the Hawaii driving laws and requirements that will affect your decision.

Car Insurance Requirements in Hawaii

Hawaii minimum auto insurance requirements require all drivers to carry the following coverage:

  • $20,000 bodily injury per accident
  • $10,000 of property damage liability
  • $40,000 bodily injury (all persons)
  • $10,000 personal injury protection

Hawaii car insurance laws do not require you to have uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, though these additional protections will give drivers the financial compensation they need if an uninsured motorist causes an accident.

Is Hawaii a No-Fault State?

Yes. Hawaii is one of a few states where each driver’s insurance will cover their property damage and injuries — regardless of who was at fault. This law holds true for minor and moderate accidents. However, if the other party causes serious bodily injury or property damage, then their insurance will be required to pay for the additional bills. 

 

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Hawaii:</zipcode>

 

Car Insurance Prices in Hawaii

Hawaii car insurance is less expensive than the national average. While your particular price will vary based on everything from age to location, drivers pay about $1,079 a year on average.

 

<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers and Teen Drivers;Car insurance for 16-18 year olds in Hawaii will pay around $1,250 a year for their policy. Like the statewide average, this cost is significantly lower than most states. However, new drivers are still encouraged to shop around for the most competitive rates.</qa> 

<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18 - 24-year-olds) in Hawaii;Car insurance rates stay relatively stable for the 18 – 24-year-old set in Hawaii. Rates will dip as drivers enter their 20s, but the average range remais tight at $1,124 – $1,080 between the ages of 18 and 24.</qa> 

<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in Hawaii;The average cost of insurance 24 – 55 year olds is $1,070.</qa> 

<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in Hawaii;Car insurance rates stay stable at $1,070 for the retired set (even into their 70s).</qa> 

<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in Hawaii;Hawaii veterans are eligible for car insurance discounts. Not every insurance company offers these discounts, so veterans may need to do some research before finding a company that offers this benefit.</qa> 
 

AgeMost Popular VehicleGenderMost Common City
18 - 24ToyotaMale - 61% | Female - 39%Honolulu
25 - 54ToyotaMale - 52% | Female - 48%Honolulu
55 - 64ToyotaMale - 44% | Female - 56%Honolulu
65 +ToyotaMale - 52% | Female - 48%Honolulu

* This information is based on Pretected.com users.

Auto Insurance for Good Drivers

Good drivers in Hawaii are statistically less likely to get into accidents on the road. Those who follow the rules of the road and watch out for potential hazards are rewarded with lower auto insurance rates in Hawaii.

Auto Insurance for Bad Drivers

All of us make mistakes on the road, but only some of us are caught for them. The more traffic tickets (e.g., speeding, running a stop sign, etc.) and fender benders you get into though, the more your rates will climb. Risky behaviors, such as reckless driving or driving under the influence, will raise your rates even higher.

Traffic Violations and Fines in Hawaii

How much you pay for each traffic violation will depend on which island you’re on and which town you’re in. You’ll pay about $100 to $150 based for a speeding ticket. There is no point system in Hawaii, but the tickets will appear on your record. Reckless driving in Hawaii can land you up to $1,000 fine, 30 days in jail, and a license suspension of between 1 – 5 years.

Driving While High Laws in Hawaii

Driving under the influence in Hawaii can result in a fine of between $150 – $1,000. Police can also revoke your driving privileges by up to 90 days. Hawaii does allow medical marijuana, but it is still a crime to drive while high.

Driving Without Car Insurance in Hawaii

Driving without car insurance in Hawaii is a serious offense. It can cost you a fine of $500 for the first offense and up to $5,000 for multiple infractions. You may also be sentenced to more than 250 hours of community service, license suspension, or even jail time.

Texting and Driving in Hawaii

Texting and driving is banned as a part of Hawaii’s distracted driving rules. Direct cell phone use while driving (without the assistance of a Bluetooth, hands-free device) can also land you in legal hot water. And even though eating while driving isn’t expressly forbidden, it may be an offense if the activity is distracting enough to cause an accident.

 

<twitter>You won’t find billboards along the highways in Hawaii — they’re banned.</twitter>

 

Hawaii Car Accidents

Car accidents statistics are around 10,000 serious accidents per year (with about one million vehicles on the road). In 2016, there were 120 fatalities and 109 fatal car accidents in Hawaii.

Reasons for Car Accidents in Hawaii

Distracted driving and speeding are the primary cause of accidents in Hawaii. Of the fatal accidents in the state, about a third are attributed to alcohol.

Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in Hawaii

Fatal accidents are primarily caused by four-wheeled motor vehicles, with about 23% attributed to motorcycles, mopeds, or scooters.

Car Accidents in Hawaii - More Facts

34 percent of all fatalities occurred to vehicle occupants who weren't wearing seat belts. 12 pedestrians were killed in auto crashes in 2017. 42 percent of all deaths in 2015 were speeding-related. 25 – 40 was the least affect age group in terms of traffic fatalities.

Bonus: Most Weird, Funny and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in Hawaii

  • If all seats in a pickup are occupied, you are allowed to ride in the bed (without safety equipment)!
  • Distracted driving laws don’t just ban texting, they ban the handling of any handheld device.

 

Looking for Auto insurance in Hawaii? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretected’s "Smart Match":

 

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Hawaii:</zipcode>

 

<resources>https://www.einsurance.com/insurance-guide/hawaii/auto-insurance/;https://www.thezebra.com/hawaii-car-insurance/hi-average-cost-of-auto-insurance/;https://www.valuepenguin.com/auto-insurance/hawaii/penalties-driving-without-insurance;https://www.berniesez.com/speeding-tickets-in-hawaii-what-to-know/;https://www.onlyinyourstate.com/hawaii/crazy-laws-hi/;https://kushtourism.com/community/topic/what-are-hawaii-marijuana-laws-for-driving/</resources>