Auto Insurance in Kansas

Compare personalized auto insurance rates in Kansas

Kansas Auto Insurance

If you aren't sure about the auto insurance requirements and rates in Kansas, you may want to take a look at them. That's especially true if you're looking for solid but cheap auto insurance in Kansas. You'll want to be informed when you buy insurance, and you also need to know the Kansas driving laws so you can make sure to follow them and keep your insurance rates low.

Car Insurance Requirements in Kansas

Kansas minimum auto insurance requirements include liability coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorists coverage, and PIP. Liability limits are:

  • $25,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per person
  • $50,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per accident
  • $25,000 worth of property damage coverage

The uninsured/underinsured motorists coverage must match your liability insurance amounts, and the PIP coverage is very specific. Kansas car insurance laws require you to have 4,500 per person for medical costs, along with $900 per month for a year for disability income loss. You'll also need it to cover $25 per day for in-home services, $2,000 for funeral, cremation, or burial expenses, and $4,500 for rehabilitation. While most states aren't that specific, driving in Kansas has some subtleties you'll want to pay attention to.

Is Kansas a No-Fault State?

Kansas is a no-fault state, so both drivers in an accident will use their own PIP and liability insurance to get their medical and other bills paid.

 

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Kansas:</zipcode>

 

Car Insurance Prices in Kansas

The car insurance prices in Kansas are a little bit lower than the national average, with liability only running around $654 and full coverage near $1,679. The average Kansas insurance amount for a year is $1,167. If you're between the ages of 35 and 75 you will have the lowest overall rates, with teen drivers and elderly drivers paying higher premiums.

 

<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers and Teen Drivers;Car insurance for 16 - 18 year olds in Kansas that is affordable really is out there, but drivers will have to look around to find it. Teen drivers often have to pay more than $3,000 per year in insurance premiums, but some companies have good discounts that can help lower that amount.</qa>

<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18 - 24 year olds) in Kansas;Getting into college means lower insurance rates, but not right away. At 18, students will still be paying the higher teenage rates. After they turn 22 is where the price for car insurance really starts to drop and they should see it come down below $2,000 annually.</qa> 

<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in Kansas;At 24 a driver is generally considered an adult for car insurance purposes. Rates start to level out at that point, and will be much closer to the Kansas average than the teen rates the driver was paying just a few years ago.</qa> 

<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in Kansas;Car insurance premiums are at their lowest when a driver is 55 years old, and after that they slowly start to rise once again. But they won't get back to the teenage year prices in normal circumstances.</qa> 

<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in Kansas;Veterans in Kansas often get car insurance discounts. They should check with their agent and with other insurance companies to see what is offered to them.</qa> 

 

AgeMost Popular VehicleGenderMost Common City
18 - 24ChevroletMale - 57% | Female - 43%Wichita
25 - 54ChevroletMale - 47% | Female - 53%Wichita
55 - 64FordMale - 41% | Female - 59%Wichita
65 +FordMale - 40% | Female - 60%Wichita

* This information is based on Pretected.com users.

Auto Insurance for Good Drivers

Good drivers are those who drive safely. They generally don't have tickets or accidents, and their insurance company will reward them for that. There are a lot of discounts for safe drivers, and it's important to recognize that they are lower risk for any insurance company.

Auto Insurance for Bad Drivers

People with blemishes on their driving record are going to pay higher insurance rates. They may have tickets or accidents, or even a DUI. But if they shop around they can generally find some insurance companies that aren't as expensive even though their driving record isn't perfect.

Traffic Violations and Fines in Kansas

Speeding Ticket Cost in Kansas

Speeding ticket fines are going to vary because they’re handled by Kansas counties. Still, most speeding tickets means hundreds of dollars in fines. Kansas can also put points on a driver's license, as well. Convictions for reckless driving will mean more money and more points, as the state takes this very seriously.

Driving While High Laws in Kansas

DUI laws in Kansas include driving under the influence of marijuana. Even for drivers who can legally have the drug in their home, it's still illegal to drive while high.

Driving Without Car Insurance in Kansas

Drivers must have car insurance in Kansas. If they don't, they could face fines and license suspensions. They could even have their car impounded or face jail time. Keeping insurance on a car at all times is very important when it comes to following Kansas driving laws.

Texting and Driving in Kansas

Distracted driving is about more than just texting behind the wheel. Other cell phone use while driving, eating while driving, and getting distracted by passengers or pets in the vehicle can all become problems. These aren't all illegal, but they are all distracting and can lead to an accident.

 

<twitter>According to Kansas law, pedestrians have to wear tail lights when they are crossing a road at night.</twitter>

 

Kansas Car Accidents

There were more than 58,000 car accidents in Kansas in 2013, and problems on the roadways in this state have been steadily rising. With more than 132,000 people injured and one death occurring nearly every day, Kansas is seeing serious problems on their roads according to car accident statistics.

Reasons for Car Accidents in Kansas

The major reasons for car accidents in Kansas were vehicles hitting either other vehicles or fixed objects. The roads in cities were by far the most dangerous, with far more accidents occurring there than on the highways.

Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in Kansas

The majority of car accidents were between passenger cars, with SUVs and trucks playing a much smaller role. Motorcycles were also involved in accidents, but at low numbers. When a motorcycle was involved, though, the risk of serious injury or fatality rose significantly.

Car Accidents in Kansas - More Facts

On average, there is a car accident in Kansas every nine minutes. The main cause of these accidents is simply inattention, where drivers are distracted. Alcohol was a factor in some crashes, but distraction and fatigue were the most likely culprits.
 

Bonus: Most Weird, Funny and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in Kansas

  • In Derby, you can be fined up to $500 for squealing your tires.
  • You could face a $100 fine in Derby for riding a llama down the road.

 

Looking for Auto insurance in Kansas? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretected’s "Smart Match":

 

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Kansas:</zipcode>

 

<resources>https://www.dmv.org/ks-kansas/car-insurance.php;https://www.insurance.com/auto-insurance.aspx;https://www.devaughnjames.com/blog/car-accident-statistics-in-kansas/;http://funlaws.50webs.com/Kansas.html</resources>