Auto Insurance in Louisiana

Compare personalized auto insurance rates in Louisiana

Louisiana Auto Insurance

If you don't know the auto insurance requirements and rates in Louisiana, now is the time to learn them. It's likely that you want cheap auto insurance in Louisiana, but you also want that insurance to protect you properly. Here are the details you need to know about Louisiana driving laws and auto insurance statistics.

Car Insurance Requirements in Louisiana

Louisiana minimum auto insurance requirements are similar to what's required in other states but a bit lower on the coverage limits. These limits are:

  • $15,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per person
  • $30,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per accident
  • $25,000 worth of property damage coverage

Liability coverage is all that is required by Louisiana car insurance laws, and you will not need to purchase collision, comprehensive, or other types of coverage unless you want to buy them for additional protection. If your car is financed, your lender may insist that you have this higher level of protection.

 

Is Louisiana a No-Fault State?

Louisiana is a fault state, so the driver who caused the accident must compensate the other party who was harmed in the accident.

 

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Louisiana:</zipcode>

 

Car Insurance Prices in Louisiana

Car insurance prices in Louisiana range from $1,135 to $3,225. This is a wide range of prices, and is generally based on liability insurance versus full coverage policies. The average for car insurance in the state is $2,180 per year. Teens will pay much more than this, as will elderly people, but people between 35 and 75 will pay the lowest rates.

 

<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers and Teen Drivers;Finding car insurance for 16 - 18 year olds in Louisiana that is easy to afford may take some time, but it is well worth the effort. Generally teen drivers will pay more than $4,000 in this state if they have full coverage, but there are discount programs families can look for that will make paying for teen car insurance easier.</qa> 

<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18 - 24 year olds) in Louisiana;Students going into college see their rates start to drop as they get a few years older. When they are 18 they will still pay very high rates, but by the time they are 22 they will see rates that are more in line with a typical adult.</qa> 

<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in Louisiana;At age 24 the rates that are paid for car insurance level out. They will not remain identical throughout the driver's adult life, but they will be similar and stable for many years.</qa> 

<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in Louisiana;Car insurance premiums are the lowest when a driver reaches the age of 55, but from that point on they start to rise again as they get closer to their senior years. While rates do rise, they don't get back to what the driver was paying in their teen years.</qa> 

<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in Louisiana;Veterans in Louisiana have the opportunity for car insurance discounts, but not all companies offer this option. Checking with their agent can help veterans find the help they need to get lower rates.</qa> 

 

AgeMost Popular VehicleGenderMost Common City
18 - 24ChevroletMale - 49% | Female - 51%Baton Rouge
25 - 54ChevroletMale - 41% | Female - 59%Baton Rouge
55 - 64ChevroletMale - 40% | Female - 60%Baton Rouge
65 +FordMale - 39% | Female - 61%Baton Rouge

* This information is based on Pretected.com users.

Auto Insurance for Good Drivers

Good drivers have good driving records, and insurance companies reward this by giving these drivers lower rates. That's because good drivers are lower risk for the insurance companies because they don't have tickets or accidents on their driving records. 

Auto Insurance for Bad Drivers

Bad drivers have made some mistakes, such as tickets, accidents, or a DUI. They may be basically good drivers overall, but those blemishes on their driving record are going to drive up their insurance rates, too. Shopping around can help them find rates that are still affordable while they wait for their driving record to improve.

Traffic Violations and Fines in Louisiana

Speeding Ticket Cost in Louisiana

Speeding ticket prices are different based on the Louisiana county where the driver got the ticket. But most tickets end up costing the driver several hundred dollars. Additionally there are points on their driver's license unless they go to traffic school to have them removed. That works in some cases, but if they are convicted of reckless driving in Louisiana they are going to see higher levels of fees and fines along with more points on their license.

Driving While High Laws in Louisiana

DUI laws in Louisiana include marijuana, and driving while high on any type of drug is illegal.

Driving Without Car Insurance in Louisiana

Drivers must have car insurance. If they don't they can face big penalties such as having their vehicle impounded or having three days to prove that they have insurance or they will not be allowed to drive until they do. The severity of the penalty depends on whether it's the first time the person has been driving without insurance or whether they have been caught doing so before.

Texting and Driving in Louisiana

Distracted driving means texting, other cell phone use while driving, eating while driving, and a lot of other distractions that can happen on the road. While not all of these things are illegal, they are all distractions that can lead to a person having a car accident.

 

<twitter>Taxi drivers can't "do the deed" in the front seat while they're on duty.</twitter>

 

Louisiana Car Accidents

In 2016 there were 487 people killed in car accidents in Louisiana, along with 99 people killed on motorcycles. Pedestrians were also killed, with 127 of them losing their lives on Louisiana roads along with 22 bicyclists according to car accident statistics.

Reasons for Car Accidents in Louisiana

The major reasons for car accidents throughout the state were speeding and failing to yield the right of way to another vehicle. Intoxicated drivers and people who didn't wear their seat belt contributed to the high number of fatalities and serious injuries that occurred in the state.

Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in Louisiana

Most of the car accidents in Louisiana involved passenger cars, but a lot of these accidents also involved SUVs or pickup trucks as the second vehicle. Additionally, there were nearly 100 people killed on motorcycles in the state, which is higher than many other states. This could be due to the nearly year-round warm weather.

Car Accidents in Louisiana - More Facts

On average, a car accident occurs in Louisiana every few minutes. With the number of deaths on the roadway, more than one person is dying in a traffic crash in Louisiana every single day. Drivers who are under the age of 25 and/or who are intoxicated make up the majority of the accidents, but there are accidents and fatalities in all categories.

Bonus: Most Weird, Funny and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in Louisiana

  • Don't tie your alligator to a fire hydrant. in New Orleans You'll be in violation of the law.
  • You can't ride on horseback or drive cattle on a public highway.

 

Looking for Auto insurance in Louisiana? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretected’s "Smart Match":

 

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Louisiana</zipcode>

 

<resources>https://www.dmv.org/la-louisiana/car-insurance.php;https://www.insurance.com/auto-insurance.aspx;https://www.flattmannlaw.com/blog/louisiana-fatal-car-accident-statistics.cfm;https://www.morrisbart.com/articles/strange-louisiana-laws/</resources>