Auto Insurance in Michigan

Compare personalized auto insurance rates in Michigan

Michigan Auto Insurance

The auto insurance requirements and rates in Michigan are important to know, especially if you want good quality but cheap auto insurance in Michigan. Here are the details you need to follow regarding Michigan state driving laws and understanding the statistics.

Car Insurance Requirements in Michigan

Michigan minimum auto insurance requirements are very important, and they have to be met in order to legally drive on the roads in that state. The minimums a driver has to have are:

  • $20,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per person
  • $40,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per accident
  • $10,000 worth of property damage coverage

In addition to these liability coverages, drivers also have to have personal injury protection (PIP) and property protection (PPI). Collision and comprehensive are not required, but many people choose to purchase them.

Is Michigan a No-Fault State?

Michigan is a no-fault state, and that means both drivers in an accident can get help from their insurance companies to make sure they are compensated for medical bills and other issues from the accident.

 

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Michigan:</zipcode>

 

Car Insurance Prices in Michigan

Car insurance prices in Michigan are quite a bit higher than the national average. The average price for liability insurance is $3,047 a year, with full coverage insurance costing an average of $3,912. Teen drivers pay the most, and can see premiums over $4,500 per year. Elderly drivers also pay more, with people between 35 and 75 paying the best rates in the state.

 

<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers and Teen Drivers;Affordable car insurance for 16 - 18 year olds in Michigan is difficult, because the costs are so high for adult drivers. Finding discount programs and more affordable policies is important for any family with a teen driver.</qa> 

<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18 - 24 year olds) in Michigan;College students will start to see their rates come down. They'll likely still be paying more than $4,000 per year at age 18, but by the time they're 22 they should see that come down below $3,500.</qa> 

<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in Michigan;By the age of 24, Michigan car insurance rates begin to level out. For most drivers throughout their adult life, they will pay closer to the average amount for car insurance.</qa> 

<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in Michigan;Car insurance premiums will be at their lowest point when a driver is age 55. After that, the rates will slowly start to rise again. Normally they won't reach the levels they were at during the teenage years, though.</qa> 

<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in Michigan;Veterans throughout the state of Michigan may be able to qualify for car insurance discounts. These vary by insurance company, so checking around can be important.</qa>

 

AgeMost Popular VehicleGenderMost Common City
18 - 24ChevroletMale - 54% | Female - 46%Detroit
25 - 54ChevroletMale - 45% | Female - 55%Detroit
55 - 64ChevroletMale - 42% | Female - 58%Detroit
65 +ChevroletMale - 42% | Female - 58%Detroit

* This information is based on Pretected.com users.

Auto Insurance for Good Drivers

Good drivers generally have good driving habits, and they understand that their driving record can affect their insurance rates. They rarely have an accident, and they don't get tickets. Because of that, their insurance companies reward them by giving them lower prices on their car insurance.

Auto Insurance for Bad Drivers

Bad drivers may have a DUI on their record, or they may have tickets or accidents. They still deserve to have car insurance they can afford, but they will have to pay higher rates than other drivers. That's because insurance companies consider them higher risk, so they're going to charge them more for coverage.

 

Traffic Violations and Fines in Michigan

Speeding Ticket Cost in Michigan

Speeding ticket costs are based on what each county charges, so it can vary across the state. Getting a ticket can also come with points on the driver's license. Reckless driving in Michigan means more points on that license, and can have additional fines, as well.

Driving While High Laws in Michigan

DUI laws in the state of Michigan are strict. They involve more than alcohol, and also include driving under the influence of marijuana. Driving while high is illegal, even if the drugs the driver is taking are legal.

Driving Without Car Insurance in Michigan

Drivers who don't have insurance face fines and penalties. It's a misdemeanor to drive without insurance, and you can be fined up to $500 and jailed for one year. You can also have your license suspended for 30 days or until you show you have proof of car insurance.

Texting and Driving in Michigan

Distracted driving is a serious problem in Michigan, just like in other states. It's more than just texting behind the wheel or other cell phone use while driving. It can also include drinking or eating while driving and many other types of activities. These aren't all illegal, but they can all contribute to causing accidents.

 

<twitter>You can't sell a car on Sunday. Still.</twitter>

 

Michigan Car Accidents

In 2011 there were 284,049 car accidents in Michigan. According to car accident statistics, failure to yield was the most common cause of these accidents and alcohol contributed to more than 9,000 of them.

Reasons for Car Accidents in Michigan

The major reasons for car accidents in this state was people failing to yield to other cars. Not stopping and not giving the right of way contributed to nearly 40,000 accidents in that same year.

Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in Michigan

The majority of accidents were between passenger cars, or passenger cars and SUVs. Trucks and vans played a much smaller role in the accident statistics, and motorcycles made up less than five percent of the total traffic crashes.

Car Accidents in Michigan - More Facts

On average, a crash occurred every few minutes throughout the entire year. Nearly 900 people were killed in these crashes in 2011, and the highest number of fatalities were seen in people in the 45 to 54 year old age group.

Bonus: Most Weird, Funny and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in Michigan

  • In Wayland you can keep your cow on Main St if needed, but you'll have to pay three cents per day.
  • If you plan to read the paper, don't sit in the middle of the street to do it. It's illegal.

 

Looking for Auto insurance in Michigan? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretected’s "Smart Match":

 

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Michigan:</zipcode>

 

<resources>https://www.dmv.org/mi-michigan/car-insurance.php;https://www.insurance.com/auto-insurance.aspx;https://www.michiganinjurylawyers.com/car-accident-statistics;http://mix957gr.com/be-careful-not-to-break-any-of-these-crazy-michigan-laws/;https://blog.nationwide.com/weird-traffic-laws-by-state/</resources>