Auto Insurance in Oregon

Compare personalized auto insurance rates in Oregon

Oregon Auto Insurance

Purchasing auto insurance in Oregon can seem like a chore and a costly process. It’s true that Oregon driving laws are complex, but there is help out there. If you are looking for cheap auto insurance or just help understanding what to expect, read on.

Car Insurance Requirements in Oregon

Oregon minimum auto insurance requirements are a must – you cannot have less than this amount of coverage and operate a vehicle on the road. However, Oregon car insurance laws are not the best option for most drivers. Many will need to purchase additional coverage. Here’s what the state requires of all drivers:

  • $25,000 of bodily injury coverage per person
  • $50,000 for bodily insurance to others per accident in total
  • $20,000 for property damage per accident
  • You must carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) as well.
  • You must maintain uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per crash

Is Oregon an At-Fault State?

Oregon is considered a fault state with PIP car insurance requirements. In the state, you can bring a lawsuit against the party that is at fault before the PIP limits are reached.

 

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Oregon:</zipcode>

 

Car Insurance Prices in Oregon

Car insurance rates in Oregon are competitive to most other states. The average full coverage policy with a $1000 deductible will cost $2,182. For liability only, drivers can expect to pay $1,305. The average overall cost is $1,743. Factors such as the vehicle, driver history, and driver age also play a role in these costs.

 

<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers and Teen Drivers;Car insurance for 16-18 year olds in Oregon is the most expensive form of insurance aside from other high-risk drivers. These teens can expect to pay the most for insurance because they are inexperienced. Drivers can expect to pay nearly $2,200 for insurance.</qa> 

<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18-24 Year Olds) in Oregon;Students who are enrolled in college may begin to see their auto insurance costs fall slightly from teen years. It’s not uncommon for those age 18 to 24 to still pay above the average rate, around $1800 for a year, if they have no claims.</qa> 

<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in Oregon;At the age of 24, insurance rates become more average at around $1500 to $1700 for most. At this time, many individuals have less of a risk of being involved in reckless driving.</qa> 

<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in Oregon;At 55, individuals typically qualify for the lowest auto insurance rates available, usually between $1,000 and $1200 a year in Oregon. Rates can go up as you get older, but are likely to stay under the average rate for the rest of your life.</qa> 

<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in Oregon;Oregon’s laws do not require discounts for veterans, though some insurance companies offer them. This discount ranges widely. Individuals should inquire about discounts if they are a U.S. military veteran.</qa>

 

AgeMost Popular VehicleGenderMost Common City
18 - 24FordMale - 56% | Female - 44%Portland
25 - 54FordMale - 45% | Female - 55%Portland
55 - 64FordMale - 43% | Female - 57%Portland
65 +FordMale - 42% | Female - 58%Portland

* This information is based on Pretected.com users.

Traffic Violations and Fines in Oregon

Speeding Ticket Cost in Oregon

Speeding tickets can be expensive here, but reckless driving in Oregon amplifies the risks. A Class A violation can cost as much as $435 with most speeding tickets costing around $220. It is possible to pay as much as $2,000 for a high-risk reckless driving conviction.

Driving While High Laws in Oregon

Any time an individual is unable to operate a vehicle safely – whether from alcohol, illicit drugs, or prescription drugs, that individual can face a ticket and the potential to lose his or her license. While marijuana is legal in the state, if you use the drug and operate a vehicle, and violate traffic laws, you could be charged with a DUI.

Driving Without Car Insurance in Oregon

Drivers must carry proof of meeting Oregon’s auto insurance requirements at all time. Not doing so can lead to fines, driver’s license suspension, and the vehicle being towed.

Texting and Driving in Oregon

A law put in place in 2009 requires drivers to use hands-free devices if necessary. Drivers who violate this law can face fines as high as $2,500 and six months in jail for aggravated incidents. Cell phone use while driving is dangerous, but other forms of distracted driving, such as eating while driving, can carry similar offenses.

 

<twitter>It is illegal in the state of Oregon to pump your own gas. Rather, a professional must do this for you.</twitter>

 

Oregon Car Accidents

Oregon’s car accident statistics are in line with other states. Take a closer look at car accident statistics in Oregon based on a report from 2017.

Reasons for Car Accidents in Oregon

In Oregon, there were 400 fatal crashes in 2017 with 437 deaths. Among these were 69 deaths of pedestrians and 10 bike riders. Common causes for accidents included rear-ending, t-bones, speeding, and DUIs.

Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in Oregon

In the state, there were 162 drivers killed in passenger vehicles and 113 in pickup trucks or SUVs. Large truck occupants amounted to 10 deaths. There were also 57 deaths of motorcycle riders.

Car Accidents in Oregon – More Facts

Of the car accidents in 2017, there were 349 that were single-car accidents while there were 306 that involved more than one vehicle. Additionally, there were 108 drivers killed who had alcohol in their systems.
 

Bonus: Most Weird, Funny and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in Oregon

  • It is illegal for people to pull sleds on their cars – or for sled riders to attach themselves to cars that pass them by.
  • For all of those busy streets in Oregon, the law offers a solution. It states that people cannot pass through what it calls a traffic congestion thoroughfare – or a busy street – more than two times per night.

 

Looking for Auto insurance in Oregon? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretected’s "Smart Match":

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Oregon:</zipcode>

 

<resources>https://www.dmv.org/or-oregon/car-insurance.php;https://www.iihs.org/iihs/topics/t/general-statistics/fatalityfacts/state-by-state-overview;https://www.insurance.com/auto-insurance.aspx#Rates_By_State</resources>