Auto Insurance in Virginia

Compare personalized auto insurance rates in Virginia

Virginia Auto Insurance

Whether you're new to the state or just want to be better informed about your current policy, it's important to review Virginia driving laws and average rates before purchasing auto insurance in Virginia. Fortunately, you can get all the information you need and more from this quick and easy read. The following article will not only show you how to get cheap auto insurance in Virginia, but also gain a better understanding of car accident statistics in this area to better protect yourself on the road.

Car Insurance Requirements in Virginia

According to Virginia car insurance laws, you must have auto insurance before you attempt to register your vehicle or you could be facing a $500 fee. All drivers in the state must meet the following Virginia minimum auto insurance requirements.

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 per accident
  • $20,000 property damage coverage per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 per accident
  • $20,000 uninsured motorist property damage coverage per accident (including a $200 deductible for hit-and-run accidents)

Is Virginia a No-Fault State?

Although Virginia is not a standard no-fault state, it implements a version of no-fault insurance that requires insurers to pay first-party claims. Drivers can opt to add personal injury protection (PIP) to their policies.

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Virginia:</zipcode>

 

Car Insurance Prices in Virginia

At a rate of $901 per year, the average cost of car insurance in Virginia is 37 percent lower than the national average. Like it is in most states, young people in Virginia pay the highest rates, starting at over $4,000 annually for a 16-year-old. 

 

<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers and Teen Drivers;Car insurance for 16-18 year olds in Virginia starts at $4,185.37 per year and ends at $3,156.75. Although this is fairly high considering the average overall rate, Virginia is actually the 4th cheapest state in the country to buy car insurance for a 16-year-old.</qa> 

<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18-24 Year Olds) in Virginia;An 18-year-old driver in Virginia can expect to pay an annual rate of $3,156.75, and this number drops by nearly $1,000 by the time a driver turns 19. Once students hit their 20s, this number drops even farther to an average of $1,244.51 per year.</qa> 

<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in Virginia;In your late 20s in Virginia, you can expect to pay around $1,000 for an average annual premium. This number will gradually decrease the older you get, averaging at $875.49 in your 30s, $837.11 in your 40s, and $766.20 in your 50s.</qa>

<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in Virginia;Car insurance rates actually drop in Virginia once a driver reaches their 50s, with an average rate of $766.20 per year. This figure begins to increase slightly in your 60s at $799.77 per year, rising again to $1,022.06 per year in your 70s. </qa> 

<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in Virginia;Virginia is one of the most patriotic states in the country, and most insurance agents are willing to offer special discounts for veterans and actively serving military members. Talk to an agent about this potential opportunity to cut back on your insurance costs even more.</qa>
 

AgeMost Popular VehicleGenderMost Common City
18 - 24HondaMale - 57% | Female - 43%Norfolk
25 - 54ToyotaMale - 48% | Female - 52%Norfolk
55 - 64FordMale - 41% | Female - 59%Virginia Beach
65 +FordMale - 43% | Female - 57%Virginia Beach

* This information is based on Pretected.com users.

Traffic Violations and Fines in Virginia

Speeding Ticket Cost in Virginia

The maximum fine for a regular speeding ticket in Virginia is $250, with added court costs for misdemeanor offenses. Reckless driving in Virginia comes with more severe penalties, with fines up to $2,500. 

Driving While High Laws in Virginia

Marijuana is still criminalized in Virginia, and drivers suspected to be operating a vehicle under the influence may be charged with a DUI and possibly possession. 

Driving Without Car Insurance in Virginia

Virginia drivers can elect to pay a $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee that allows them to drive uninsured for a specific length of time. However, failure to have any insurance or pay this fee can result in a Class 3 misdemeanor, $500 fine, and potential suspension of your driver's license, vehicle registration, and license plates.

Texting and Driving in Virginia

According to Virginia law, cell phone use while driving is a primary offense for all drivers. A first-time distracted driving violation comes with a fine of $125, with a $250 fine for all subsequent offenses. Eating while driving can also be considered a form of distracted driving and thus may result in similar penalties. The top three distracted driving categories for Virginia drivers in 2017 included 1) Eyes not on the road, 2) Looking at roadside incident, and 3) Using a cell phone/texting.

 

<twitter>Women are barred from driving a car on Main Street unless the woman's husband is walking in front of the car waving a red flag.</twitter>

 

Virginia Car Accidents

According to a car accident statistics report compiled by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, there were 127,375 car accidents in Virginia in 2017, a 0.9 percent decrease from the previous year. There is one car accident in the state every 4.1 minutes, and 2.3 lives lost each day as a result of traffic accidents. 

Reasons for Car Accidents in Virginia

Approximately 21 percent of car accidents in Virginia are caused by distracted driving, followed by 19 percent for speeding, 6 percent for alcohol-related reasons, and 1 percent involving pedestrians.

Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in Virginia

Approximately 97.1 percent of all crashes in Virginia involved passenger vehicles, followed by 3.6 percent involving commercial motor vehicles, 1.8 percent involving large trucks, 1.7 percent involving motorcycles, 0.4 percent involving buses, 0.5 percent involving bikes, and 0.3 percent involving mopeds.

Car Accidents in Virginia - More Facts

There were 7,285 alcohol-related car accidents in Virginia in 2017, a 2.6 percent decrease from 2016. Motorcycle accident fatalities increased by a staggering 48.6 percent since 2016, amounting to 107 total. Approximately 67.9 percent of DUI convictions in the state were male, while 23.9 percent were female in 2017. 
 

Bonus: Most Weird, Funny and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in Virginia

  • Law enforcement may not have gotten the memo, but radar detectors are technically illegal in Virginia.
  • In Virginia Beach, it is illegal to drive by the same area of Atlantic Avenue twice within 30 minutes.

 

Looking for Auto insurance in Virginia? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretected’s "Smart Match":

 

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Virginia:</zipcode>

 

<resources>https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/vehicles/#insurance.asp;https://www.marksandharrison.com/blog/virginia-no-fault-state/;https://www.thezebra.com/virginia-car-insurance/va-average-cost-of-auto-insurance/;https://jalopnik.com/what-every-driver-should-know-about-speeding-in-virgini-1669902845;https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/safety/#programs/drinking/drugged.asp;https://www.valuepenguin.com/auto-insurance/virginia/penalties-driving-without-insurance;https://www.allenandallen.com/what-are-the-texting-and-driving-laws-in-virginia-video/;https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/safety/crash_data/crash_facts/crash_facts_17.pdf;https://blog.nationwide.com/weird-traffic-laws-by-state/;https://www.myimprov.com/weirdest-traffic-laws-from-each-state/;https://coverhound.com/insurance-learning-center/14-strange-laws-in-virginia</resources>