Arkansas Auto Insurance
Automobile insurance can be confusing and potentially expensive, especially for those with less than perfect credit or poor driving records. With a little reading and research, however, consumers in Arkansas can find car insurance easier to understand and to afford.
For those looking for cheap auto insurance in Arkansas, the process may be simpler than one may think. Auto insurance in Arkansas doesn't haven't to be complicated. In this article you will quickly learn about automobile insurance in Arkansas, important Arkansas driving laws, what is required of drivers in the state and you will discover the factors important in determining automobile insurance rates in Arkansas.
Car Insurance Requirements in Arkansas
Arkansas car insurance laws require drivers to carry liability insurance to pay for damages they may cause in an accident. The Arkansas minimum auto insurance requirements for liability coverage are as follows:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 for total bodily injury per incident if more than one person was involved
- $25,000 per accident for property damage
Arkansas car insurance laws do not require comprehensive, collision or uninsured motorist coverage, although they are available as options.
Is Arkansas a No-Fault State?
No, Arkansas is not a no-fault state, which means that anyone involved in an accident needs to show that someone else is the cause of the accident for their insurance company to compensate for any damages or injuries caused by the accident.
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Arkansas:</zipcode>
Car Insurance Prices in Arkansas
The average rate for liability car insurance in Arkansas is $770 for state minimum coverage. Car insurance rates for teens are highest in the state with liability coverage averaging over $2,000 annually. The lowest insurance prices are paid by those between 45 years of age and 55 years of age, with liability premiums averaging $370 for liability coverage.
<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers and Teen Drivers;As in most states, the most expensive car insurance rates in Arkansas are for teen drivers. Car insurance rates for 16 to 18-year-olds in Arkansas range from $2067 for 16-year-olds to $1590 for 18-year-olds. This is for liability only coverage. For full coverage rates can average about double that, at about $4000.</qa>
<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18-24-Year-Olds) in Arkansas;College-age drivers in Arkansas begin to see some relief from the highest of car insurance rates with average liability coverage dropping to $1099 at age 19 and continuing to lower to an average of $575 by age 24. Even full coverage becomes more affordable with rates averaging $2650 at age 19 and dropping to an average of $1538 by age 24.</qa>
<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+-Year-Olds in Arkansas;With the exception of high-risk drivers, both liability and full coverage insurance rates in Arkansas begin to level off after drivers reach their 25th birthday. For example, liability rates at 25 years old average $483 and at 45 they average $405. Full coverage throughout this period range from $1329 to $1096. </qa>
<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and over) in Arkansas;Automobile insurance rates in Arkansas reach their lowest levels at age 55, averaging $370 annually for liability coverage and $994 a year for full coverage. While they gradually begin to increase again as driver's age, they never reach anywhere near the peak levels of teenage rates. </qa>
<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in Arkansas;Some insurance providers in Arkansas provide discounts for veterans. Veterans should contact their agent or carrier to determine if they qualify. </qa>
|Age||Most Popular Vehicle||Gender||Most Common City|
|18 - 24||Chevrolet||Male - 46% | Female - 54%||Little Rock|
|25 - 54||Chevrolet||Male - 41% | Female - 59%||Little Rock|
|55 - 64||Ford||Male - 35% | Female - 65%||Little Rock|
|65 +||Ford||Male - 38% | Female - 62%||Little Rock|
* This information is based on Pretected.com users.
Traffic Violations and Fines in Arkansas
Speeding Ticket Cost in Arkansas
Getting a speeding ticket in Arkansas can add between three and 14 points to a driving record and result in fines of up to $500. Speeding 15 miles or more over the speed limit can lead to a charge of reckless driving in Arkansas and result in jail time.
Driving While High Laws in Arkansas
Driving while intoxicated laws in Arkansas are similar to those in other states allowing for a driver to be cited if they have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher. Driving while impaired laws in Arkansas also provide for penalties for driving while under the influence of marijuana and prescription drugs.
Driving Without Car Insurance in Arkansas
Driving without car insurance in Arkansas can result in escalating fines depending on if the driver is a repeat offender. Fines for a first offense range from $50 to $250, a second offense will lead to fines of $250-$500 and third offenses will result in fines of $500-$1000.
Texting and Driving in Arkansas
Distracted driving in Arkansas includes a variety of activities including cell phone use while driving and eating while driving. Texting while driving in Arkansas is illegal and drivers can be ticketed resulting in fines starting at $100.
<twitter>Weird traffic laws in the state make it illegal to honk your horn after 9 pm at a sandwich shop in Arkansas. </twitter>
Arkansas Car Accidents
Car accidents statistics from 2014 (last available) state that there were 60,947 car accidents in Arkansas. Car accidents in Arkansas are among the highest per capita in the country. State highways in Arkansas are where most accidents occur with 62% of all accidents and 79% of all fatal accidents occurring on state highways.
Reasons for Car Accidents in Arkansas
Of the 60,947 total accidents that took place in 2014 in Arkansas, 18,175 resulted in injuries affecting 27,502 people. There were 436 fatal crashes that resulted in 470 deaths. Of those 436 fatal crashes, 192 or 44% were drug or alcohol related.
Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in Arkansas
The most frequently occurring accident in Arkansas involves a passenger car and some form of a light truck. Consider however that light trucks include pickup trucks, SUVs and mini-vans. The most common cause of accidents in Arkansas, including those involving motorcycles is excessive speed.
Car Accidents in Arkansas – More Facts
- From 2010-2014 the 21-25 age group experienced the most traffic fatalities
- Nonfatal injury rates from accidents have reduced by 50% since 2006 in Arkansas
- About 80% of all crashes in Arkansas occur in dry conditions
Bonus: Most Weird, Funny and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in Arkansas
- Drivers as young as 14 years old can get a learner's permit in Arkansas if they can prove they are in school and have at least a 2.0-grade average.
- In 2018 the town of Damascus, Arkansas was banned from issuing speeding tickets for violating the state's speed trap law.
Looking for Auto insurance in Arkansas? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretected’s "Smart Match":
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Arkansas:</zipcode>