Nevada Auto Insurance
How much do you know about auto insurance requirements and rates in Nevada? If you are looking for cheap auto insurance but you also want quality, you will need to do your research and follow Nevada driving laws. Being informed can help you make the right decision. Here are some of the most important things to know.
Car Insurance Requirements in Nevada
Nevada minimum auto insurance requirements require everyone who registers a car in Nevada to prove that they have insurance. They must also provide their insurance information when they renew their vehicle tags each year. According to Nevada car insurance laws, all drivers must have:
- $25,000 of bodily injury or death coverage per person
- $50,000 of bodily injury or death coverage per accident
- $20,000 of property damage coverage
These are all liability, as collision and comprehensive coverages are not required. However, they are offered as options and many people choose to have them.
Is Nevada a No-Fault State?
Nevada is a fault state when it comes to car insurance. That means drivers found responsible for accidents have to compensate affected parties who are injured or who have property damage.
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Nevada:</zipcode>
Car Insurance Prices in Nevada
The car insurance prices in Nevada typically range from $804 per year for liability only to more than $2050 per year for full coverage. Teen drivers pay the most, and can see premiums over $3,000 per year. Drivers in the 35-year-old to 75-year-old age range pay the lowest rates, and the average price per year is $1,429.
<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers and Teen Drivers;Finding car insurance for 16 - 18 year olds in Nevada that is an affordable option can be difficult. Often this age group can see premiums approaching $3,000 per year. Comparing rates from different insurance carriers and searching for discounts can help.</qa>
<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18 - 24 year olds) in Nevada;Once students enter college years, their auto insurance rates drop by a lot. When they are still 18 they can pay over $3,000 per year on average, but by the time they are 22 their premiums can drop below $2,000 annually.</qa>
<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in Nevada;By the time a Nevada driver is 24, car insurance rates level out to more standard prices. From that point through most of their adult life, drivers will generally pay around $1,300 to $1,500 per year.</qa>
<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in Nevada;At age 55, car insurance rates are at their lowest point for drivers. From that point through their senior years, rates will begin to rise again. However, they generally will not get back up to the levels of teenage drivers.</qa>
<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in Nevada;Veterans who live in Nevada can often qualify for discounts on their car insurance. These programs are different based on the insurance company, so asking their agent is important.</qa>
|Age||Most Popular Vehicle||Gender||Most Common City|
|18 - 24||Honda||Male - 50% | Female - 50%||Las Vegas|
|25 - 54||Toyota||Male - 50% | Female - 50%||Las Vegas|
|55 - 64||Ford||Male - 47% | Female - 53%||Las Vegas|
|65 +||Ford||Male - 49% | Female - 51%||Las Vegas|
* This information is based on Pretected.com users.
Auto Insurance for Good Drivers
With valuable, safe driving habits, good drivers often get rewarded with lower car insurance premiums. They usually don't get tickets and they don't cause accidents. Most companies offer discounts for these desirable behaviors.
Auto Insurance for Bad Drivers
Being a bad driver does not make someone a bad person. For drivers who have tickets, accidents, and other concerns on their record, though, their insurance premiums are going to be higher because they pose more risk to insurers. Rates at one company may still be very different than another, so it pays to shop around.
Traffic Violations and Fines in Nevada
Speeding Ticket Cost in Nevada
Since speeding tickets are handled by counties it is not possible to give a specific cost for a ticket in Nevada. But a speeding ticket usually results in several hundred dollars in fines. It could also mean points on a driver's license, and if convicted of reckless driving in Nevada there will be additional license points, fees, and costs.
Driving While High Laws in Nevada
Nevada DUI laws are strict, and they encompass driving while high, as well. Even if drivers can use marijuana legally, they still cannot use it and then drive while they are impaired.
Driving Without Car Insurance in Nevada
Drivers without car insurance can face multiple penalties for that infraction. This includes fines, license suspension, registration suspension, impounding of their vehicle, and more. The severity of the punishment depends on whether this is the first time the driver has been found without insurance or whether this is an ongoing issue.
Texting and Driving in Nevada
Distracted driving is a serious offense, and in Nevada it means texting, cell phone use while driving, eating while driving and other types of activities. Not all of these are illegal, but they can all contribute to accidents and traffic infractions.
<twitter>According to Nevada state law, the blood alcohol limit for drivers under 21 is .02 percent.</twitter>
Nevada Car Accidents
In 2010, which is the last year with verifiable data, there were just over 51,660 car accidents in Nevada. This resulted in 160 fatalities for drivers and 49 for passengers. Car accident statistics for this state show that fatalities are on par with national averages, at 1.06 per million miles traveled.
Reasons for Car Accidents in Nevada
The biggest reason for car accidents, including fatalities, were vehicles striking other vehicles, and vehicles striking fixed objects. Alcohol was also a factor in seven percent of injury crashes and nearly 22 percent of fatal crashes. There were 796 pedestrian injuries and 36 fatalities during that same one-year period.
Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in Nevada
Over 65 percent of all car accidents in Nevada involved passenger cars. Additionally, cars, trucks, and SUVs together made up over 90 percent of accidents on the roads. Vans, motorcycles, and mopeds made up far fewer of the accident statistics.
Car Accidents in Nevada - More Facts
Car accidents are, unfortunately, abundant in Nevada. With so many of them taking place every day, there is an accident on a Nevada roadway every few minutes. Many of these were in urban, metropolitan centers like Las Vegas, but some were in more rural locations, too. Drivers under the age of 25 were responsible for a disproportionate number of these accidents.
Bonus: Most Weird, Funny and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in Nevada
- Passengers under 60 pounds have to be in a certified car seat.
- If you own a camel, make sure you avoid riding it down the road. Nevada law says that's still illegal.
Looking for Auto insurance in Nevada? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretected’s "Smart Match":
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Nevada:</zipcode>