Utah Auto Insurance
If you aren't really sure about auto insurance requirements and rates in Utah, you may want to take a look. This is especially important if you want quality but cheap auto insurance in Utah. You'll need to be informed when buying insurance, and you also want to know Utah driving laws so you can be sure to follow them. This will help keep your insurance rates lower.
Car Insurance Requirements in Utah
Utah minimum auto insurance requirements include liability coverage and PIP. The liability limits are:
- $25,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per person
- $65,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per accident
- $15,000 worth of property damage coverage
- $80,000 in total for property damage and bodily injury coverage.
You can also get other coverage options, such as collision and comprehensive insurance, but you don't need to have them and they aren't required by Utah car insurance laws. Many people carry them anyway, for extra protection.
Is Utah a No-Fault State?
Utah is a no-fault state, so drivers who are involved in an accident will use their own PIP insurance to get their medical bills covered.
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Utah:</zipcode>
Car Insurance Prices in Utah
The car insurance prices in Utah are generally between $809 and $1,720 per year, depending on whether the person wants state minimums or full coverage. But the average Utah driver will pay around $1,264 per year. Teen drivers pay the highest premiums, followed by elderly drivers. People in middle age typically pay the lowest rates.
<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers and Teen Drivers;Car insurance for 16 - 18 year olds in Utah isn't always easy to find if drivers are looking for low rates. But there are some options. Often teen drivers have to pay over $3,000 per year, but there are companies that have discount programs and other options to lower those insurance premiums.</qa>
<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18 - 24 year olds) in Utah;Getting into college can mean lower auto insurance rates, but that will still take some time. At 18, a college freshman will still be paying teenage rates. Around the age of 22 these rates will start dropping, and eventually they will end up as typical adult rates. That usually happens by age 24.</qa>
<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in Utah;At 24, most drivers are considered full adults for the purposes of their auto insurance rates. At that age, rates are going to level out and be much more reasonable than a teen driver was being asked to pay.</qa>
<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in Utah;Drivers who are 55 years of age typically pay the lowest car insurance premiums. As they continue to age their rates will start to rise again, but they generally won't go back to what they were during the teenage years.</qa>
<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in Utah;Veterans throughout Utah may be eligible for special discounts. But they'll need to check with their agent to see what their insurance company offers. Shopping around may be worthwhile.</qa>
|Age||Most Popular Vehicle||Gender||Most Common City|
|18 - 24||Ford||Male - 56% | Female - 44%||Salt Lake City|
|25 - 54||Ford||Male - 53% | Female - 47%||Salt Lake City|
|55 - 64||Chevrolet||Male - 47% | Female - 53%||Salt Lake City|
|65 +||Ford||Male - 51% | Female - 49%||Salt Lake City|
* This information is based on Pretected.com users.
Auto Insurance for Good Drivers
Good drivers don't generally have tickets, and they rarely have an accident. They drive safely, and because their driving record is good their insurance rates are lower than what would be seen for other drivers.
Auto Insurance for Bad Drivers
People can have bad marks on their driving record from tickets, accidents, or even a DUI. Because of that, they may see higher car insurance rates. Not all companies raise rates as much as others, so shopping around could be the right choice for drivers who don't have clean records.
Traffic Violations and Fines in Utah
Speeding Ticket Cost in Utah
Speeding ticket fines vary, since they're handled by the counties and not by the state. But drivers who are ticketed for speeding in Utah can expect hundreds of dollars in fees and fines before they are all done. Convictions for reckless driving in Utah mean even more fines along with extra points on the driver's license.
Driving While High Laws in Utah
DUI laws in Utah include drugs as well as alcohol, and it's illegal to drive while high.
Driving Without Car Insurance in Utah
Drivers in Utah have to have auto insurance. They can face fines if they don't, along with suspension of their license or registration. Penalties get worse if it's not the driver's first offense.
Texting and Driving in Utah
Distracted driving is not just texting behind the wheel. Other cell phone use while driving, eating while driving, and a number of other distractions can all add up to problems, Not all of these things are illegal, but they all put drivers at risk.
<twitter>According to Utah law, cyclists on the roadways have to keep one hand on the handlebars.</twitter>
Utah Car Accidents
Utah is ranked third in the nation for car accidents and deaths due to distracted driving, according to car accident statistics. In 2017, there were 273 car accidents in Utah that resulted in a fatality. While this is lower than the national average, 20 of those crashes happened because a driver was distracted.
Reasons for Car Accidents in Utah
The major reason for car accidents in Utah was driving while being distracted by something else. There are many injuries and fatalities in the state from this, and it's a serious problem for the state.
Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in Utah
Most car accidents in Utah involved passenger cars, with SUVs and trucks playing a smaller role in the accident statistics. Motorcycles were also involved in accidents, but they made up fewer than five percent of the total number of accidents.
Car Accidents in Utah - More Facts
On average, accidents happen in Utah every few minutes. Driver inattention is a big problem in the state, where people doing everything but driving behind the wheel is resulting in traffic deaths that could very easily be avoided.
Bonus: Most Weird, Funny and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in Utah
- Swearing behind the wheel? Not if you're a woman. It's illegal for you to swear in Utah.
- If you hit an animal and cause roadkill it's legal for you to eat it. But it's not really recommended.
Looking for Auto insurance in Utah? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretected’s "Smart Match":
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Utah:</zipcode>