Wyoming Auto Insurance
Learning about the auto insurance requirements in Wyoming is important, so you can get the insurance you need. If you want good but cheap auto insurance in Wyoming, you'll need to be aware of the Wyoming driving laws. Then you can keep your record clean and see lower rates on your car insurance.
Car Insurance Requirements in Wyoming
Wyoming minimum auto insurance requirements include liability coverage, as well as uninsured/underinsured motorists coverage. The liability limits are:
- $25,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per person
- $50,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per accident
- $20,000 worth of property damage coverage
The uninsured/underinsured motorists coverage must match the liability insurance amounts. There are other insurance options, such as collision and comprehensive, but Wyoming car insurance laws don't require drivers to have them. Many drivers choose them because they provide extra protection.
Is Wyoming a No-Fault State?
Wyoming is a fault state, which means that the driver who caused the accident must compensate the other injured parties in that accident.
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Wyoming:</zipcode>
Car Insurance Prices in Wyoming
Car insurance prices in Wyoming are generally between $509 and $1,622 annually, depending on the type and level of coverage the driver wants. On average, though, the rate is around $1,066 every year. Drivers who are between 35 and 75 generally pay the lowest rates, and teen drivers pay the highest premiums. Elderly drivers can also expect to pay more than the average in Wyoming.
<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers and Teen Drivers;Car insurance for 16 - 18 year olds in Wyoming can be a challenge, because teen drivers can often be asked to pay more than $2,000 per year. There are companies that offer discount programs, and that can help families afford their insurance.</qa>
<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18 - 24 year olds) in Wyoming;College age drivers will still pay high rates at first, but by the time they reach the age of 22 their rates will be coming down and getting closer to normal. At that time they should see their rates fall below the $2,000 per year mark.</qa>
<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in Wyoming;At 24, drivers are considered adults when it comes to car insurance. Rates will be levling out at that point, and will be far closer to average.</qa>
<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in Wyoming;Car insurance premiums are lowest for drivers who are 55 years old. As they age beyond that their rates will start to go up again. However, drivers in Wyoming shouldn't see their rates go back to what they were during their teen years.</qa>
<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in Wyoming;Veterans in Wyoming may have the opportunity to get car insurance discounts. These discounts vary by insurer, so shopping around for the best option is a good idea.</qa>
|Age||Most Popular Vehicle||Gender||Most Common City|
|18 - 24||Chevrolet||Male - 62% | Female - 38%||Gillette|
|25 - 54||Ford||Male - 52% | Female - 48%||Cheyenne|
|55 - 64||Ford||Male - 53% | Female -47%||Cheyenne|
|65 +||Ford||Male - 46% | Female - 54%||Cheyenne|
* This information is based on Pretected.com users.
Auto Insurance for Good Drivers
Good drivers usually drive carefully. They avoid tickets, and they don't get into accidents. They get rewarded by their insurance company, too, because that good driving record means they are a lower risk for costing their insurance company money.
Auto Insurance for Bad Drivers
People with blemishes on their record pay higher rates for insurance. They might have a DUI, tickets, or accidents. Insurance companies will see them as higher risk, so they will charge them premiums that are more than people with better driving records.
Traffic Violations and Fines in Wyoming
Speeding Ticket Cost in Wyoming
Speeding ticket fines are handled by counties, so they will be different throughout the state. Drivers can expect to pay several hundred dollars for a speeding ticket, and may have to go to driving school to keep points off their license. Reckless driving in Wyoming comes with extra fines and more license points, as the state takes that seriously.
Driving While High Laws in Wyoming
DUI laws in Wyoming are for both alcohol and drugs. It's illegal to drive while high, even if the drug used is otherwise legal.
Driving Without Car Insurance in Wyoming
Drivers are required to have car insurance. If they are found not to they can face fines, suspensions, and even imprisonment. Penalties are lowest for first-time offenders, and get worse if the driver is found again without insurance.
Texting and Driving in Wyoming
Distracted driving can include texting, other cell phone use while driving, eating while driving, and getting distracted by passengers or even pets. Not all of these are illegal, but they can all contribute to a driver having or causing an accident.
<twitter>Not only is it illegal to drive under the influence, but you can't ski that way, either.</twitter>
Wyoming Car Accidents
Wyoming has the highest DUI rate in the nation, with a rate of 9.56 per 100,000 people. This has led to a high rate of traffic crashes and fatalities, and a yearly increase in the number of people who are causing car accidents in Wyoming, according to car accident statistics. From 2014 to 2015, DUIs increased 16.7 percent in the state.
Reasons for Car Accidents in Wyoming
The biggest reason for car accidents in Wyoming is DUI, followed by vehicles striking other vehicles or fixed objects due to distracted driving or failure to yield the right of way. Roads in rural areas are the most dangerous, because of the higher rate of speed on them.
Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in Wyoming
The majority of auto accidents happen with passenger cars, but many people in Wyoming also drive trucks and SUVs. Motorcycles were less likely to be involved in accidents there, but in the summertime this risk rose. So did the risk of a fatality when a motorcycle was involved in an accident with another vehicle.
Car Accidents in Wyoming - More Facts
On average, a car accident happens in Wyoming every few minutes. Each year there are more than 3,000 DUI arrests on Wyoming roads, and likely many others who drove impaired and were not caught. With DUI being one of the main causes of accidents, it's important for Wyoming to find a way to get these numbers down.
Bonus: Most Weird, Funny and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in Wyoming
- If you open a gate to get to the road, the law says you have to close it behind you.
- It's frowned upon (no pun intended!) to smile in your driver's license photo, but it's not technically illegal. Yet.
Looking for Auto insurance in Wyoming? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretectedâ€™s "Smart Match":
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Wyoming:</zipcode>