Cheap Car Insurance Rates in North Carolina (2019)

Compare Auto Insurance Rates in North Carolina

North Carolina Auto Insurance

Shopping around for auto insurance in North Carolina can feel like a daunting task—you want to keep the price low while still making sure you adhere to state driving laws and insurance coverage laws. Having all the right information makes this process easier and also helps you shop smarter. The following helpful guide will outline everything you need to know about North Carolina auto insurance and more.

Car Insurance Requirements in North Carolina

To legally operate a vehicle in North Carolina, drivers must carry the following minimum insurance.

  • $30,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person, $60,000 per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability coverage
  • $30,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person, $60,000 per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage

Is North Carolina a No-Fault State?

North Carolina is an at-fault car insurance state, meaning that only the driver at fault for the accident will be responsible for paying for the damages.

 

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In North Carolina:</zipcode>

 

Car Insurance Prices in North Carolina

The average car insurance premium in North Carolina is 39.4 percent lower than the national average at $865 per year. However, like every other state, teenagers start out paying a much higher rate, beginning at an average annual rate of $2,649.93 for a 16-year-old and continually decreasing to under $1,000 by the time a driver reaches 19 years old.

 

<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers, and Teen Drivers;Car insurance for 16-18 year olds in North Carolina isn't exactly cheap, but it's actually the second cheapest in the country for 16-year-olds specifically. At 16, drivers pay an average annual premium of $2,649.93, which drops to $2,062.91 by the time the driver reaches 17. Rates drop again by age 18, with an average annual premium of $1,816.06.</qa> 

<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18-24 Year Olds) in North Carolina;Fortunately for students, car insurance rates drop nearly $1,000 once you reach your 20s, starting at $1,816.06 for an 18-year-old and ending at an average rate of $875.07 in your 20s.</qa> 

<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in North Carolina;Car insurance annual premiums average out to $875.07 for drivers in their 20s, though you can expect to pay less the older you get, considering the fact that drivers tend to have lower accident rates as they reach their mid- to late 20s.</qa> 

<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in North Carolina;Older drivers might see their annual premiums rise slightly as they reach their late 50s and early 60s, going from an average of $842.29 to $857.75. By the time North Carolina drivers reach their 70s, premiums rise slightly again to an average of $895.77.</qa> 

<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in North Carolina;Many insurance companies will offer discounts to veterans and actively serving members of the military upon request. Discuss these potential savings opportunities with an insurance agent when obtaining each quote.</qa>

 

AgeMost Popular VehicleGenderMost Common City
18 - 24FordMale - 53% | Female - 47%Charlotte
25 - 54FordMale - 45% | Female - 55%Charlotte
55 - 64FordMale - 38% | Female - 62%Charlotte
65 +FordMale - 41% | Female - 59%Charlotte

* This information is based on Pretected.com users.

Traffic Violations and Fines in North Carolina

Speeding Ticket Cost in North Carolina

Drivers who are caught going 15 mph over the speed limit will usually pay a $30 ticket, plus $188 in court costs. Typically, driving more than 10 mph over the speed limit is considered reckless driving in North Carolina and will result in the driver receiving points on their license.

Driving While High Laws in North Carolina

The law states that it is illegal to drive while high in North Carolina, as it is to drive under the influence of any "impairing substance."

Driving Without Car Insurance in North Carolina

If you have a lapse in your car insurance coverage, North Carolina requires that you pay a civil penalty fee ranging from $50 to $150, depending on how many prior offenses you have on your record. Since driving without insurance is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor in North Carolina, drivers without adequate insurance coverage may also face imprisonment with a chance of 1-45 days probation as an alternative.

Texting and Driving in North Carolina

North Carolina law dictates that drivers may not use a cell phone for text messaging or e-mail while operating a motor vehicle. If you are found guilty of distracted driving, either for cell phone use while driving or eating while driving, you may be punished with a fine and court costs.

 

<twitter>Your mother might have made the rule, but North Carolina definitely enforces it—it's illegal to play in traffic in the state.</twitter>

 

North Carolina Car Accidents

According to a 2016 report prepared by the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles, there were 267,494 total car accidents in North Carolina in 2016, 1,340 of which were fatal. The car accident statistics in the report also indicate that 32.2 percent of all fatalities were related to speeding, and 72.6 percent of all crashes occurred between 7:00 AM and 6:59 PM. 

Reasons for Car Accidents in North Carolina

In 2016 20.3 percent of all crashes in North Carolina involved a driver that was distracted, predominantly for using a cell phone while driving. In both fatal and non-fatal car accidents, the majority of drivers had blood alcohol concentration levels over 0.15, and accidents increase the more alcohol a driver has in his or her system.

Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in North Carolina

Passenger cars were most commonly involved in car accidents in North Carolina, making up 55 percent of all cars involved in accidents. This was followed by SUVs at 19 percent, pickup trucks at 13 percent, and vans at 4 percent. 

Car Accidents in North Carolina

Approximately 8.8 percent of all pedestrians involved in a motor vehicle accident in North Carolina were killed in 2016. A staggering 3,162 motorcyclists were injured in traffic accidents the same year, a 1.4 percent increase from the previous year. An alarming 31 percent of children age 0-4 were killed in a motor vehicle crash as a result of being unbelted in 2016, compared to just 15 percent in 2015.
 

Bonus: Most Weird, Funny, and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in North Carolina

  • Although it makes sense, it's one of those things that shouldn't need to be said: it is against the law to drive on any sidewalk in North Carolina.
  • Your nostalgia for the 90s has no place in North Carolina, as it's illegal to rollerblade on its state highways.

 

Looking for Auto insurance in North Carolina? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretected’s "Smart Match":

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In North Carolina:</zipcode>

 

<resources>https://www.geico.com/information/states/nc/;https://www.thezebra.com/north-carolina-car-insurance/nc-average-cost-of-auto-insurance/;https://www.nerdwallet.com/blog/insurance/true-cost-speeding-ticket-north-carolina-nc/;https://nccriminallaw.sog.unc.edu/driving-while-stoned/;https://gilleslaw.com/texting-while-driving-in-nc/;https://www.farrin.com/car-accidents/auto-accident-stats-nc;https://connect.ncdot.gov/business/DMV/DMV%20Documents/2016%20Crash%20Facts.pdf;https://blog.nationwide.com/weird-traffic-laws-by-state/;https://www.scottclarkhonda.com/blogs/209/around-town/6-weirdest-laws-north-carolina/</resources>