Washington Auto Insurance
Purchasing auto insurance in Washington can be both expensive and intimidating. However, it's better to go into it knowing what to expect in terms of cost, minimum auto insurance requirements, Washington driving laws, and general car accident statistics. The following article will address all of these things and more, so you can find cheap auto insurance that covers everything you need.
Car Insurance Requirements in Washington
Every driver must meet the following Washington minimum auto insurance in order to comply with Washington car insurance laws.
- $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person, $50,000 per accident
- $10,000 property damage liability coverage
- $25,000 underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 per accident
- $10,000 underinsured motorist property damage coverage, $10,000 per accident
- $10,000 basic personal injury protection per accident
Is Washington a No-Fault State?
Washington is actually a comparative fault state, which means that the fault of all parties involved in an accident is considered when determining compensation for damages. Drivers may also opt for no-fault personal injury protection (PIP) car insurance coverage.
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Washington:</zipcode>
Car Insurance Prices in Washington
Car insurance is relatively inexpensive â€” in fact, it's 18.7 percent less than the national average at $1,160 per year. Auto insurance is much more expensive for 16-year-old drivers, averaging at $6,301 per year, though the price drops to just $999 per year for the average driver in their 50s.
<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers and Teen Drivers;Young people pay the highest rates for auto insurance across the country. Car insurance for 16-18 year olds in Washington start out at an average rate of $6,301.42 through $4,157.56. Rates decline significantly with each year, typically leveling out once a driver reaches their mid- to late-20s.</qa>
<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18-24 Year Olds) in Washington;The average 18-year-old in Washington will shovel out over $4,000 for car insurance annually, though this number drops to an average of $2,716.21 for a 19-year-old. By the time a student reaches his or her 20s, this number will level out to an average of $1,511.22. </qa>
<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in Washington;By the time you reach your mid- to late-20s, your likelihood of getting into a car accident declines, and so does your insurance rate. You can expect to pay around $1,200 for your average yearly rate. </qa>
<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in Washington;Insurance rates are lowest for Washington drivers in their 50s, typically staying under $1,000. Once you hit your 60s, rates rise slightly to an average of $1,024.50. Drivers in their 70s will pay a higher, though not significantly, rate of $1,283.54 per year. </qa>
<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in Washington;Most car insurance companies in Washington are willing to offer special discounts for veterans and actively serving members of the military. Ask an agent at each company you're considering to get a clear picture of the ultimate rate you will pay.</qa>
|Age||Most Popular Vehicle||Gender||Most Common City|
|18 - 24||Honda||Male - 56% | Female - 44%||Auburn|
|25 - 54||Toyota||Male - 52% | Female - 48%||Auburn|
|55 - 64||Ford||Male - 46% | Female - 54%||Auburn|
|65 +||Ford||Male - 45% | Female - 55%||Vancouver|
* This information is based on Pretected.com users.
Traffic Violations and Fines in Washington
Speeding Ticket Cost in Washington
A typical speeding ticket in Washington will cost you $250 in fines and an additional $17 in fees. The law defines reckless driving in Washington as operating a vehicle "in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property." This might include speeding in places like school zones or construction zones.
Driving While High Laws in Washington
Although recreational marijuana is legal in Washington state, it is illegal to drive with 5 ng/ml of THC or more in your blood if you are 21 or older. For those under 21, it is illegal to drive with any amount of THC in your blood.
Driving Without Car Insurance in Washington
Drivers who choose to operate a vehicle without proper insurance will be subject to a $450 fine, and potential suspension of their driver's license.
Texting and Driving in Washington
Law enforcement has cracked down on cell phone use while driving in recent years. Washington drivers may not use hand-held cell phones while driving, stopped in traffic, or at a stop light. However, exceptions are made if the driver is contacting emergency services. The first ticket comes with a cost of $136. Drivers could also receive a $99 ticket for other distractions, such as smoking, grooming, reading, and eating while driving.
<twitter>Drivers with criminal intentions are legally required to stop at the city limits and call the chief of police to notify them that he is entering the area.</twitter>
Washington Car Accidents
According to a recent car accident statistics report from the Washington Department of Transportation, there were 120,993 car accidents in Washington in 2017, 525 of which were fatal. About 34,000 of these accidents resulted in possible/suspected injuries.
Reasons for Car Accidents in Washington
Approximately 10 percent of car accidents in Washington are caused by distracted drivers, while 14 percent are caused by teen drivers. Pedestrians were involved in less than 2 percent of accidents in 2017.
Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in Washington
The majority (over 90 percent) of car accidents in Washington involved passenger vehicles, followed by 3.2 percent involving large trucks, 1.8 percent involving motorcycles, 0.01 percent involving bicycles, and 0.01 percent involving buses.
Car Accidents in Washington
According to 2017 data from the Washington Department of Transportation, a car accident occurs every 4 minutes in the state, and a person dies in a car accident every 20 hours. The highest number of crashes occur on Saturdays, while November is the month with the highest number of crashes in the year. Young people in the age group 16-25 were the most likely to be killed in a car accident.
Bonus: Most Weird, Funny and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in Washington
- It is illegal to hug someone while driving in the state of Washington.
- It is illegal to ride an ugly horse in Washington.
Looking for Auto insurance in Washington? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretectedâ€™s "Smart Match":
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Washington:</zipcode>