Texas Auto Insurance
Howdy y'all, if you're wondering about the rates and auto insurance requirements in Texas, you aren't alone. Many people who move there and are looking for cheap auto insurance in Texas are curious about the laws and regulations. You want to pay attention to Texas driving laws, too, so you can keep a good driving record and have low rates for your insurance.
Car Insurance Requirements in Texas
Texas minimum auto insurance requirements are only for liability coverage, and the liability limits you will need to have are:
- $30,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per person
- $60,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per accident
- $25,000 worth of property damage coverage
A lot of drivers choose to do more than what is required by Texas car insurance laws by getting PIP, uninsured/underinsured motorists coverage, comprehensive, and collision coverage. These aren't required, but they can give drivers a lot more financial protection.
Is Texas a No-Fault State?
Like most states, Texas is a fault state for auto insurance. That means that any driver who causes an accident has to compensate the other injured parties to that accident.
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Texas:</zipcode>
Car Insurance Prices in Texas
The car insurance prices in Texas average between $938 and $2,364. The lower end is liability only, while the higher end is for comprehensive coverage. With an annual average of $1,651, Texas has insurance rates that are higher than many other states. Teen drivers will pay the most, with rates typically over $3,000. Senior drivers will also pay higher rates, and middle aged people will pay the lowest.
<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers and Teen Drivers;Car insurance for 16 - 18 year olds in Texas can be more than $3,000 per year. There are discount programs offered by some insurance companies that can reduce that rate, and it often pays to shop around for a company that will give a good discount and a better rate to a teenage driver.</qa>
<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18 - 24 year olds) in Texas;Getting into college should mean lower car insurance rates, but at 18 a freshman will still be paying teen rates for auto insurance. By the time that same student is graduating at 22, though, their car insurance rates will be down closer to what older drivers will pay.</qa>
<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in Texas;At 24, drivers are considered adults for car insurance purposes. Rates level out at that time, and will slowly drop as the driver gets older. But even the slightly higher rates will be a lot lower than the teen driving rates were.</qa>
<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in Texas;Car insurance premiums are generally lowest when a driver is 55, and as the driver continues to age the rates will slowly start to go back up again. Most people will never see their rates get back to where teenage prices were, though.</qa>
<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in Texas;Veterans in the state of Texas may have the opportunity to get auto insurance discounts. Checking with their agent and shopping around for prices and discounts can help them find the best deal.</qa>
|Age||Most Popular Vehicle||Gender||Most Common City|
|18 - 24||Chevrolet||Male - 57% | Female - 43%||Houston|
|25 - 54||Chevrolet||Male - 49% | Female - 51%||Houston|
|55 - 64||Ford||Male - 45% | Female - 55%||Houston|
|65 +||Ford||Male - 44% | Female - 56%||Houston|
* This information is based on Pretected.com users.
Auto Insurance for Good Drivers
Good drivers have good records. They rarely have accidents and they don't get tickets. Because of that, they are considered low risk and rewarded by their insurance companies with better rates. Some companies provide more rewards than others, so even the best drivers should occasionally shop around and check their car insurance rates.
Auto Insurance for Bad Drivers
People who have problems with their driving record will be expected to pay more for their auto insurance than people with better records. That's because bad drivers are a higher risk for the insurance company, so they are charged more for that risk level. These drivers may have tickets or accidents, and they could have a DUI on their record. They should still shop around, though, because some insurance companies still charge more than others based on a driving record.
Traffic Violations and Fines in Texas
Speeding Ticket Cost in Texas
Speeding ticket costs can really vary, but that doesn't mean they're going to be cheap. Some Texas counties charge more than others, and a driver can expect to pay several hundred dollars in fines. There may also be points assessed on their license, although traffic school could help with that in some cases. Convictions for reckless driving in Texas can mean even more points on a driver's license, along with a lot more fines and a higher level of expense.
Driving While High Laws in Texas
DUI laws in Texas include driving under the influence of marijuana, and the state is very strict. No matter whether the driver can legally possess the drug, driving while high is always illegal.
Driving Without Car Insurance in Texas
Drivers are required to have car insurance in Texas, and if they don't they face fines and suspensions. They could have their car impounded, or even face jail time. Repeat offenders may be penalized more harshly than first-time offenders, and keeping insurance on your car at all times is very important.
Texting and Driving in Texas
Distracted driving is not just about texting. Other cell phone use while driving, eating while driving, and getting distracted by people in the car or things around the area can all be problems. Not all of these things are illegal, but they are all distractions that can lead to a driver causing an accident.
<twitter>It's illegal to drive without windshield wipers, but not without a windshield.</twitter>
Texas Car Accidents
Nearly 3,000 people every year are killed on Texas roadways, and the number is climbing each year according to car accident statistics. Even though it is a large area, the car accidents in Texas are higher than they should be for the population when compared with other states and national averages. Several people each day die on Texas roadways, and many more are injured.
Reasons for Car Accidents in Texas
The main reasons for car accidents in Texas were alcohol and distracted driving. Single-vehicle crashes are high there, leading to the belief that these drivers are distracted and not following the rules of the road.
Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in Texas
Passenger cars caused the highest number of accidents, followed by pickup trucks. SUVS, motorcycles, and other types of vehicles were also involved in accidents, but in far smaller numbers. Fatalities were higher for motorcycles.
Car Accidents in Texas - More Facts
On average, there is a reportable car accident in Texas every 57 seconds, and someone dies on Texas roadways every two hours and 20 minutes. This makes Texas a dangerous state for drivers.
Bonus: Most Weird, Funny and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in Texas
- Nothing can protrude from a car's bumper, unless it's also chained to the car.
- Driving in Richardson, Texas? It's illegal to make a U-Turn there.
Looking for Auto insurance in Texas? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretectedâ€™s "Smart Match":
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Texas:</zipcode>