Mississippi Auto Insurance
Auto insurance requirements and rates in Mississippi are among the most relaxed in the country. But if you want to have solid but cheap auto insurance in Mississippi, you'll still need to be well informed. Here are the details you need to know about Mississippi driving laws and auto insurance.
Car Insurance Requirements in Mississippi
Mississippi minimum auto insurance requirements have to be met in order to make sure you're complying with Mississippi car insurance laws. To do that, you'll need to have:
- $25,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per person
- $50,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per accident
- $25,000 worth of property damage coverage
If you want to, you can also make a security deposit or post a bond for these amounts instead of buying insurance. That's perfectly legal, but most people who live in Mississippi just choose to get insurance. You aren't required to have comprehensive or collision insurance, nor are you required to have uninsured/underinsured motorists coverage. A lot of people buy these coverage options for extra protection.
Is Mississippi a No-Fault State?
Mississippi is a tort state, which is similar to a fault state. When a driver causes harm or damage, that driver has to pay the injured party and compensate them for the injuries and/or the property damage.
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Mississippi:</zipcode>
Car Insurance Prices in Mississippi
The prices for car insurance in the state of Mississippi fall between $780 and $2,049, with the average car insurance in Mississippi costing around $1,415. You can expect teen drivers to pay more, while elderly drivers will also have higher rates. If a driver is between the ages of 35 to 75, though, they will have the lowest rates with all other things being equal.
<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers and Teen Drivers;Affordable car insurance for 16 - 18 year olds in Mississippi doesn't have to be a dream. While it can be difficult to find, there are options that can make premiums lower. You don't have to pay $3,000 for a teen to have car insurance. Checking rates from different carriers and focusing on discount programs can really make a difference.</qa>
<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18 - 24 year olds) in Mississippi;The college years can mean a lot of new adventures. Part of that is seeing your car insurance come down. At 18 a driver will still be paying high premiums, but once they reach the age of 22 they will see their premiums come down by quite a lot.</qa>
<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in Mississippi;Age 24 is where car insurance rates start to drop considerably. At that age drivers reach "adult" rates and will pay similar rates for nearly the whole of their adult life.</qa>
<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in Mississippi;If you want to see your lowest premiums you'll need to reach age 55. Those premiums will be right around or under $1,000 annually, and from that point premiums will slowly start to go up as the driver gets older. It's not likely that you'll see teenage rates, though.</qa>
<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in Mississippi;There are discount programs in place for veterans when it comes to car insurance, and Mississippi may have them, as well. These programs will vary by insurer, so checking around is important.</qa>
|Most Popular Vehicle
|Most Common City
|18 - 24
|Male - 46% | Female - 54%
|25 - 54
|Male - 37% | Female - 63%
|55 - 64
|Male - 36% | Female - 64%
|Male - 38% | Female - 62%
* This information is based on Pretected.com users.
Auto Insurance for Good Drivers
A good driver is generally one that doesn't get tickets or have accidents. Because of their good driving records, insurance companies will give them lower, better rates. Some companies do this more than others, and it's important to check with different companies to get the best rates.
Auto Insurance for Bad Drivers
For drivers who don't have the best records, there are still plenty of insurance options. These drivers might have tickets or accidents on their record, or even a DUI. That makes them a higher risk for insurance companies, and because of that they generally charge more. It's possible to find lower rates, but these rates generally won't be as low as they would be for a driver who has a better driving record.
Traffic Violations and Fines in Mississippi
Speeding Ticket Cost in Mississippi
For anyone who gets a speeding ticket in Mississippi, the cost will be important. Tickets can cost hundreds of dollars, and the county in which that ticket was issued matters. Additionally, there can be points put on the driver's license and that can mean that insurance premiums go up quite a bit. If the driver is convicted of reckless driving in Mississippi, the points and fines will be even higher.
Driving While High Laws in Mississippi
Mississippi has very strict DUI laws, and these laws are also about being under the influence of marijuana. Whether or not a driver is legally using the drug at home isn't relevant, since driving while high is illegal.
Driving Without Car Insurance in Mississippi
Car insurance is required in the state of Mississippi, and for drivers that don't have it there are penalties to be faced. Suspended licenses, impounded cars, and various fines can all add up to real problems for drivers in this state who don't have insurance on their cars.
Texting and Driving in Mississippi
With texting and other cell phone use while driving becoming more common, along with eating while driving and many other activities being seen every day on Mississippi roads, distracted driving is a real issue today. Not all of these are illegal, but they are all definitely distracting for drivers.
<twitter>Per Mississippi state law a woman driver needs a male flagger walking in front of their vehicle.</twitter>
Mississippi Car Accidents
In 2017, 685 people died in car crashes on Mississippi roads. Most of these crashes occurred in rural areas, and speeding and alcohol were often factors. It was the fourth year in a row that the state had led the nation in traffic deaths. With a fatality rate of 28.1, Mississippi's rate is 20 percent higher than the next state on the list, which is Wyoming. Car accident statistics show that car accidents in Mississippi are not getting better, and in fact they are getting worse.
Reasons for Car Accidents in Mississippi
The major reasons for car accidents in Mississippi are speeding, drinking, not wearing a seat belt, and texting. These are behaviors that also occur in other states, but the combination of them is seen in Mississippi more often than in other areas of the country.
Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in Mississippi
Passenger cars are in the majority of the accidents in this state, with pickup trucks and SUVs close behind. Motorcycle accidents are also high, partially due to the warm weather and partially due to the ruralness of so many of the roads in the state.
Car Accidents in Mississippi - More Facts
From 1999 to 2016, there were a total of 14,786 deaths on Mississippi roads. If the state followed the national average, it would have had roughly half of that number of fatalities. The unforgiving nature of rural roads and the distance from a potential crash to the nearest hospital are both significant when it comes to the number of people who die on Mississippi roads, as well.
Bonus: Most Weird, Funny and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in Mississippi
- You can't house your horse within 50 feet of a road.
- In Oxford, you can't drive around the town square more than 100 times in a session.
Looking for Auto insurance in Mississippi? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretectedâ€™s "Smart Match":
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Mississippi:</zipcode>