West Virginia Auto Insurance
The auto insurance requirements and rates in West Virginia are important to know if you want to follow West Virginia driving laws properly. You may also be interested in cheap auto insurance in West Virginia, and you want to have a clean driving record to get the lowest possible rates. Here's what you really should know.
Car Insurance Requirements in West Virginia
West Virginia minimum auto insurance requirements include liability coverage, and uninsured/underinsured motorists coverage. The limits for liability are:
- $25,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per person
- $50,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per accident
- $25,000 worth of property damage coverage
When you get uninsured/underinsured motorists coverage it has to match the liability insurance amounts to properly meet West Virginia car insurance laws. You aren't required to have other types of insurance, such as comprehensive and collision, but many people choose to get these anyway because it gives them extra protection.
Is West Virginia a No-Fault State?
West Virginia is a fault state. That means any driver who causes an accident has to compensate the other parties to that accident.
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In West Virginia:</zipcode>
Car Insurance Prices in West Virginia
The car insurance prices in West Virginia typically range between $791 and $1,918. The difference in price is for liability only or full coverage insurance. That makes the average in the state around $1,354. Teen drivers can expect to pay the highest rates, followed by elderly people. Those who are in middle age will typically see rates that are the lowest.
<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers and Teen Drivers;Car insurance for 16 - 18 year olds in West Virginia is expensive, but can be more affordable than in some states. Teen drivers may be asked to pay over $2,000 per year, but there are discounts and programs that families can look into in an attempt to lower the rate.</qa>
<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18 - 24 year olds) in West Virginia;Getting into college can mean seeing insurance rates drop, at least after a few years. An 18-year-old is still going to be paying the high teen rates. At 22, though, those rates are going to be a lot closer to what a typical adult would be paying in West Virginia.</qa>
<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in West Virginia;A driver who is age 24 is considered to be an adult, and will usually see a significant drop in their car insurance premiums. Rates are leveling out at that poing, and those rates will be a lot closer to the rates an older driver will pay. Teen rates will be a thing of the past, making the insurance considerably more affordable.</qa>
<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in West Virginia;The lowest car insurance premiums are for drivers who are 55 years old. Then they will slowly see their premiums start to increase as they age. The increase will be slow until they are elderly, at which point rates will be higher. But those rates shouldn't go back to what was seen as a teenage.</qa>
<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in West Virginia;Veterans in West Virginia may have the chance to get car insurance discounts through their insurance company. If they aren't offered any, they may want to take a look at different insurance companies in order to see if they can get a lower rate.</qa>
|Age||Most Popular Vehicle||Gender||Most Common City|
|18 - 24||Ford||Male - 59% | Female - 41%||Martinsburg|
|25 - 54||Chevrolet||Male - 43% | Female - 57%||Charleston|
|55 - 64||Chevrolet||Male - 41% | Female - 59%||Charleston|
|65 +||Chevrolet||Male - 37% | Female - 63%||Charleston|
* This information is based on Pretected.com users.
Auto Insurance for Good Drivers
Good drivers are careful and safe, and they have good records. They rarely get into a traffic accident, and they don't get tickets. Because of that, they are given lower rates from their car insurance companies. This happens because they pose a lower risk for those companies and are less likely to cost them money.
Auto Insurance for Bad Drivers
People who don't have the best driving records can still get insurance, but they will have to pay more for it. They are higher risk, and their insurance companies will charge more. This is typically done with people who have accidents or tickets, or who have a DUI on their record.
Traffic Violations and Fines in West Virginia
Speeding Ticket Cost in West Virginia
Counties in West Virginia handle speeding ticket fines, so those rates vary. However, several hundred dollars is often paid out by someone who received a speeding ticket. Additionally, reckless driving in West Virginia costs more and can also mean points on the driver's license. Traffic school can help keep points off a license in some cases.
Driving While High Laws in West Virginia
DUI laws in West Virginia are about alcohol and drugs. No matter if the drug is legal for the person to be using, it's illegal to drive when high.
Driving Without Car Insurance in West Virginia
Drivers must have proper car insurance in West Virginia that meets state minimum requirements. If they don't, they face fines, license and registration suspensions, and jail time. Repeat offenders are treated more harshly than first-time offenders.
Texting and Driving in West Virginia
Distracted driving is a serious problem in West Virginia, just like it is in many other states. Most people think this means texting behind the wheel, but other cell phone use while driving, eating while driving, and getting distracted by pets or other people in the vehicle can all be a problem. Not all of these behaviors are breaking the law, but they can definitely all contribute to an accident.
<twitter>It's not illegal to eat roadkill. But most people still wouldn't recommend it.</twitter>
West Virginia Car Accidents
In 2011 there were 337 fatal car accidents in West Virginia, according to car accident statistics. In those accidents, 463 drivers died. The majority of the accidents happened in the rural areas where speed limits are higher and inattention can become more of a problem. The rest of the accidents occurred in urban settings.
Reasons for Car Accidents in West Virginia
Leaving the roadway and speeding were two of the main reasons for car accidents in West Virginia. While alcohol and distracted driving played a role in some accidents, they were not the major factors in the majority of traffic crashes.
Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in West Virginia
The majority of car accidents were between passenger cars. That was followed by SUVs and trucks, along with vans. Motorcycles and related types of conveyances accounted for only a nominal number of accidents.
Car Accidents in West Virginia - More Facts
On average, a car accident occurs in West Virginia every few minutes. Most of these happen in rural areas. Speeding and leaving the roadway were more prevalent than alcohol and other factors, especially in rollover crashes in the state.
Bonus: Most Weird, Funny and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in West Virginia
- Don't display on red or black flags on your car. It's illegal to display them at all.
- If you skip driving and take the train, don't take a nap. It's illegal.
Looking for Auto insurance in West Virginia? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretectedâ€™s "Smart Match":
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In West Virginia:</zipcode>