New Jersey Auto Insurance
Shopping around for car insurance is a daunting and confusing task, especially if you don't have a foundational understanding of New Jersey driving laws and the average cost of auto insurance in New Jersey. Fortunately, you can quickly get up to speed on everything with this comprehensive guide. The following article will outline the most important statistics, laws, and average premium rates to help you get a better idea of what to expect when searching for a cheap auto insurance quote.
Car Insurance Requirements in New Jersey
New Jersey car insurance laws require drivers to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. Failure to meet the following New Jersey minimum auto insurance requirements can result in penalties such as monetary fines and jail time.
- $15,000 bodily injury per person per accident
- $30,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
- $5,000 property damage liability
- $15,000/$30,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury
- $5,000 per accident with $500 deductible uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage
Is New Jersey a No-Fault State?
Yes, New Jersey is a no-fault state. This means that New Jersey drivers must purchase Personal Injury Protection (PIP) that covers both you and the other person involved in the accident in the event of damage and/or injury.
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In New Jersey:</zipcode>
Car Insurance Prices in New Jersey
Auto insurance in New Jersey is relatively expensive. In fact, at an average cost of $1,679 per year it's 17.6 percent higher than the national average. A 16-year-old driver in New Jersey can expect to pay about $7,870 per year for coverage, while a driver in their 50s pays an average of $1,497 per year.
<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers, and Teen Drivers;Car insurance for 16-18 year olds in New Jersey can range from $7,870.13 per year to $6,297.74 per year. Consistent with the rate of car accidents for each age, the cost tends to gradually declineâ€‹ the older a driver gets.</qa>
<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18-24 Year Olds) in New Jersey;The cost of being a student is already significantly high for most people in this age group, and the added cost of car insurance doesn't seem to help. At 18 years old, the cost of car insurance is above $6,000, but levels out to an average of $2,308.76 by the time the driver reaches their 20s.</qa>
<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Year Olds in New Jersey;Since the likelihood of getting into a car accident decreases for drivers in their late 20s and on into adulthood, car insurance rates remain relatively consistent. Drivers in their 20s will pay around $2,000 for an annual premium, though these rates will tend to hover around $1,500 by your 30s and onward.</qa>
<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in New Jersey;New Jersey drivers in their 50s and 60s pay similar rates around $1,500 per year. However, these rates increase slightly by the time drivers reach their 70s, averaging $1,618.35 per year.</qa>
<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in New Jersey;Many car insurance companies offer special discount for veterans and actively serving members of our military. Since these discounts vary, ask an agent directly about this potential opportunity.</qa>
|Age||Most Popular Vehicle||Gender||Most Common City|
|18 - 24||Honda||Male - 62% | Female - 38%||Paterson|
|25 - 54||Honda||Male - 56% | Female - 44%||Newark|
|55 - 64||Ford||Male - 52% | Female - 48%||Newark|
|65 +||Toyota||Male - 48% | Female - 52%||Berkeley|
* This information is based on Pretected.com users.
Traffic Violations and Fines in New Jersey
Speeding Ticket Cost in New Jersey
If you are caught speeding between 1 and 9 mph over the limit in New Jersey, you can expect to get a speeding ticket of $85 and 2 points on your record. Between 14 and 19 mph over the limit comes with a ticket cost of $105 and 4 points on your record. It is up to the officer's discretion to determine what is considered reckless driving, but fines are significantly higher for drivers caught speeding in construction zones.
Driving While High Laws in New Jersey
New Jersey's driving while intoxicated (DWI) statute prohibits driving while impaired by "narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug[s]," which can arguably include the use of marijuana.
Driving Without Car Insurance in New Jersey
A first time violation of New Jersey law regarding driving without liability insurance comes with a fine of at least $300 and up to $1,000, community service, DMV surcharges of $250 for three years, and a mandatory license suspension for one year.
Texting and Driving in New Jersey
All forms of distracted driving, including cell phone use while driving and eating while driving, are prohibited in New Jersey. The most common consequence of texting and driving in New Jersey is a minimum fine of $200, with a maximum of $400 for a first time offense.
<twitter>Frowning at a police officer is against the law in New Jersey.</twitter>
New Jersey Car Accidents
There were 273,473 total car crashes on New Jersey roads in 2016, according to car accident statistics from the New Jersey Department of Transportation. Of these car accidents in New Jersey, 210,213 caused property damage, 62,690 caused injuries, and 570 resulted in fatalities.
Reasons for Car Accidents in New Jersey
In 2016, there were 3,831 car accidents involving cell phones in New Jersey. Alcohol-related crashes are also a major problem in the state, since 601 alcohol-related traffic deaths occurred in New Jersey in 2016. Accidents involving a parked vehicle and fixed objects amounted to 16 percent and 10 percent, respectively, of total accidents in the state in 2016.
Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in New Jersey
Of all car accident fatalities in 2016, 72 percent were occupants of passenger vehicles, 17 percent were occupants of large trucks, and 11 percent were nonoccupants, which includes pedestrians and bicyclists.
Car Accidents in New Jersey
Of the 37,461 car accident fatalities in New Jersey in 2016, 50 percent occurred in rural areas, 47 percent occurred in urban areas, and 3 percent occurred in areas of unknown type. According to the National Occupant Protection Use Survey for 2016, seat belt use increased from 82.5 percent in 2007 to 90.1 percent in 2016.
Bonus: Most Weird, Funny, and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in New Jersey
- If you are convicted of driving while intoxicated in New Jersey, you may never again apply for personalized license plates.
- In 1928, a law was created that claimed all motorists must honk before passing another vehicle.
Looking for Auto insurance in New Jersey? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretectedâ€™s "Smart Match":
<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In New Jersey:</zipcode>