Cheap Car Insurance Rates in Rhode Island (2019)

Compare Auto Insurance Rates in Rhode Island

Rhode Island Auto Insurance

Before you purchase auto insurance in Rhode Island, it helps to know what your real requirements are and how to save money on the costs. It’s possible to buy cheap auto insurance, but you can’t limit the protections you need to do so. Instead, know the Rhode Island driving laws and insurance requirements, and how they impact you by reading the details here before you buy.

Car Insurance Requirements in Rhode Island

Rhode Island auto insurance requirements are the bare minimum amount of coverage you must have. According to Rhode Island car insurance laws, you must carry:

  • $25,000 in bodily injury or death of one person in liability insurance
  • $50,000 in liability coverage for total bodily injury or death liability
  • $25,000 in liability coverage for property damage per accident

Rhode Island car insurance laws do not require you to carry anything but liability insurance – which protects other drivers that you cause loss to. It doesn’t require you to have comprehensive or collision insurance.

Is Rhode Island a No-Fault State?

Rhode Island is a fault state. This means that individuals who cause an accident are responsible for their losses as well as the losses they caused to other drivers or property owners.

 

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Rhode Island:</zipcode>

 

Car Insurance Prices in Rhode Island

Car insurance prices in Rhode Island range widely on factors such as driving history, the type and value of the car, as well as discounts. The average liability only policy is $1234 in the state, with full coverage, on average, costing $2,452. Overall, the average rate for drivers is $1,843.

 

<qa>1;Car Insurance for Young Drivers, New Drivers and Teen Drivers;Car insurance for 16-18 year olds in Rhode Island is likely to be the most expensive of all policies. Finding affordable policies for this age group, in which prices can be as high as $3,800 for some needs, can be difficult. Compare rates from various carriers and bundle policies when possible to reduce costs.</qa> 

<qa>2;Car Insurance for Students (18-24 Years Old) in Rhode Island;At this slightly higher age, car insurance costs drop a bit, as long as the driver remains accident and ticket-free. Expect to pay up to $2,400 for insurance at this age.</qa> 

<qa>3;Car Insurance for 24+ Years Old in Rhode Island;Those who are between the ages of 30 and 65 are likely to play the least amount for car insurance. Expect policies to average around $1000 up to $1500 for car insurance at this age. Prices can be lower for some families.</qa> 

<qa>4;Car Insurance for 55 (and Over) in Rhode Island;For those who are older, policies can begin to drop in value, depending on usage. Prices may hover around $1,000 annually for some drivers. However, high-risk drivers may begin to pay more and the older you get, the higher costs will rise.</qa> 

<qa>5;Car Insurance for Veterans in Rhode Island;Veterans may be able to secure a discount for car insurance in Rhode Island. Discounts can vary by carrier but may amount to as much as 20 percent off.</qa>

 

AgeMost Popular VehicleGenderMost Common Zip Code
18 - 24HondaMale - 49% | Female - 51%Cranston
25 - 54ToyotaMale - 45% | Female - 55%Cranston
55 - 64ToyotaMale - 43% | Female - 57%Cranston
65 +ToyotaMale - 42% | Female - 58%Cranston

* This information is based on Pretected.com users.

Traffic Violations and Fines in Rhode Island

Speeding Ticket Cost in Rhode Island

Speeding tickets in Rhode Island are determined based on the severity of the case. Those who are first-time speeders, for example, who are going no more than 10 miles over the limit may pay a penalty of $80 to $100. Rhode Island does not have a point system but instead applies fines and the loss of a license as repeated offenses occur. Reckless driving in Rhode Island may warrant significantly higher fees.

Driving While High Laws in Rhode Island

Driving intoxicated (whether that is with alcohol or illicit drugs, or even prescription drugs) can warrant a fine. Fines for driving impaired like this can range from $100 up to $250 depending on the offense.

Driving Without Car Insurance in Rhode Island

Fines for driving without car insurance may amount to $500 up to $1000 and the loss of your driving privileges for up to 12 months.

Texting and Driving in Rhode Island

Another key concern is distracted driving. If you are eating while driving or otherwise distracted, such as with cell phone use while driving, you are putting others at risk. Hand-free communication is the only option in the state. You could be fined $100 or more for a violation.

 

<twitter>In Rhode Island, it’s illegal to ride a horse on a highway if the goal is to see how fast the horse can go.</twitter>

 

Rhode Island Car Accidents

It’s important to know car accident statistics in the state of Rhode Island. Take a closer look at some of the types of car accidents in Rhode Island.

Reasons for Car Accidents in Rhode Island

Rhode Island’s motor vehicle rate of deaths is lower than the national average and has been since 1999. In 2016, 55 people died as a result of car accidents in the state with 429 people suffering serious injury.

Car Accident Statistics by Vehicle Type in Rhode Island

Rear-end car crashes are the most common form of accident in the state, accounting for more than half.  Motorcycle fatalities in 2014 were 12, but this number is an increase of 38 percent from 2012. In 2017, there were 36 people in passenger cars killed in accidents, 43 in pickup trucks or SUVs, and 1 in a large truck.

Car Accidents in Rhode Island – More Facts

In 2016, there was an increase in the number of people who died in fatal car accidents who were not wearing a seat belt. An uptick of 4% was seen in that year. Pedestrian deaths grew nine percent as well.
 

Bonus: Most Weird, Funny and Ridiculous Traffic Laws in Rhode Island

  • In Rhode Island, it is illegal to use a cap gun, including in a vehicle or on city streets.
  • It’s also illegal to throw a pickle or pickle juice at a trolley.

 

Looking for Auto insurance in Rhode Island? Compare Between Relevant Insurance Quotes And Save Money Using Pretected’s "Smart Match":

<zipcode>Find The Cheapest Auto Insurance In Rhode Island:</zipcode>

 

<resources>https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/rhode-island-car-insurance-requirements.html;https://www.dmv.org/ri-rhode-island/point-system.php;https://www.insurance.com/auto-insurance.aspx#Rates_By_State;http://www.dot.ri.gov/projects/HandsFree/;https://www.nhtsa.gov/sites/nhtsa.dot.gov/files/documents/rhode_island_fy2018_hsp.pdf;https://www.iihs.org/iihs/topics/t/general-statistics/fatalityfacts/state-by-state-overview</resources>